WAZA

Capture d’écran 2021-01-21 à 17.44.37.pn

The Waza Art Center is an independent art space located in Lubumbashi in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Waza is working on two different approaches: action research facilitated by Pierre Kahenga (Pole Institute) with a driving unit of 10 young artists, curators and researchers from the Waza ecosystem exploring the modes of operation of communities in Lubumbashi and nearby rural areas and the sharing of power, resources and knowledge, on the one hand, and a residency in the broad sense of the artist Christian Nyampeta with local collaborators, to translate the research material into artistic productions, on the other hand. This research is also part of a larger restructuring of Waza.

Capture d’écran 2021-02-27 à 12.49.44.pn

Research-Action

The action research is facilitated by Pierre Kahenga (Pole Institute) with a driving unit of 10 young artists, curators and researchers from the Waza ecosystem exploring the modes of operation of communities in the city of Lubumbashi and in nearby rural areas, particularly on sharing of power, resources and knowledge.

© Waza Commons Research Focus group in Kiswishi, 12 kilometers from the city center of Lubumbashi)

@ Waza Commons research - Focus group in Kiswishi, 12 kilometres from the city centre of Lubumbashi)

RESIDENCY

Evening school in Lubumbashi:

a residence at large by Christian Nyampeta at the Waza Art Center,

February 2021 - February 2022

Artist Christian Nyampeta designs and organizes screenings, performances, educational experiences and publications as reception structures for collective well-being, cooperative thinking and mutual action.

For this residency, Nyampeta will develop a mutual learning program, including workshops and cultural activities, materializing through the cooperation of institutions near and far, fellow artists, musicians and researchers located in Lubumbashi, Rwanda and elsewhere. .

This residency will be done with local collaborators, to translate the research material into artistic productions.

2019_2020-8eb807af.jpg

© Sara Lofwander

PODCASTS

Sound track - How to live together Project

Evening - Radius Station

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Waza photo 2.png

Waza offers resources for artists and cultural operators from all disciplines for the development of critical thinking through artistic research, exchanges with local communities and international art professionals. 

 

Waza develops projects at the intersection of art, research and social engagement. The Revolution Room project (2013-2016) was awarded the Critical Discourse Award of the African Architecture Prize (Zeitz MOCAA, 2016).

Waza has started a process of reflection on the commons in recent years with a twofold approach: exploring and prospecting. The exploratory approach aims to compare different understandings of the commons in Congolese urban and peri-urban society. The prospective approach aims to experiment with the en-community in a space of artistic creation and diffusion such as the Waza art centre. The research on the en-community offers Waza an opportunity to experiment the possibilities of integrating a solidarity economy within its local ecosystem. The main objective is to build collectively a real living space and a more open and accountable coordination team. 

Photo_waza.jpg

WAZA

Capture d’écran 2021-01-21 à 17.44.37.pn

Le centre d'art Waza est un espace d'art indépendant situé à Lubumbashi en République Démocratique du Congo.

Waza travaille sur deux approches différentes : une recherche-action facilitée par Pierre Kahenga (Pole Institute) avec une unité motrice de 10 jeunes artistes, conservateurs et chercheurs de l'écosystème Waza explorant les modes de fonctionnement des communautés de Lubumbashi et des zones rurales proches et le partage du pouvoir, des ressources et des connaissances, d'une part, et une résidence au sens large de l'artiste Christian Nyampeta avec des collaborateurs locaux, pour traduire le matériel de recherche en productions artistiques, d'autre part. Cette recherche s'inscrit également dans le cadre d'une restructuration plus large de Waza.

Capture d’écran 2021-02-27 à 12.49.44.pn

Recherche-Action

La recherche-action est facilitée par Pierre Kahenga (Pole Institute) avec une unité motrice de 10 jeunes artistes, conservateurs et chercheurs de l'écosystème Waza explorant les modes de fonctionnement des communautés dans la ville de Lubumbashi et dans les zones rurales proches notamment sur le partage du pouvoir, des ressources et des connaissances.

© Waza Commons Research Focus group in Kiswishi, 12 kilometres from the city centre of Lubumbashi)

@ Waza Commons research - Focus group in Kiswishi, 12 kilometres from the city centre of Lubumbashi)

RESIDENCE

École du soir à Lubumbashi :

une résidence de Christian Nyampeta au Centre d'art waza,

Février 2021 - Février 2022

L'artiste Christian Nyampeta conçoit et organise des projections, des performances, des expériences pédagogiques et des publications comme des structures d'accueil pour le bien-être collectif, la pensée coopérative et l'action mutuelle.

Pour cette résidence, Nyampeta développera un programme d'apprentissage mutuel, comprenant des ateliers et des activités culturelles, se matérialisant par la coopération d'institutions proches et lointaines, de collègues artistes, de musiciens et de chercheurs situés à Lubumbashi, au Rwanda et ailleurs.

Cette résidence se fera avec des collaborateurs locaux, pour traduire le matériel de recherche en productions artistiques.

2019_2020-8eb807af.jpg

© Sara Lofwander

PODCASTS

Sound track - How to live together Project

Evening - Radius Station

Waza photo 2.png

Waza offre des ressources pour les artistes et opérateurs culturels de toutes les disciplines pour le développement de la pensée critique à travers la recherche artistique, les échanges avec les communautés locales et les professionnels de l'art internationaux. 

Waza développe des projets à l'intersection entre l'art, la recherche et l'engagement social. Le projet Revolution Room (2013-2016) a été récompensé par le prix du discours critique du Prix d'architecture africaine (Zeitz MOCAA, 2016).

Waza a entamé un processus de réflexion sur les communs depuis quelques années avec une double approche : explorer et prospecter. L’approche exploratoire vise à croiser les regards entre différentes compréhensions de l’en-commun dans la société urbaine et péri urbaine congolaise. L’approche prospective vise à expérimenter l’en-commun dans un espace de création et de diffusion artistique comme le centre d’art Waza. La recherche sur l’en-commun offre à Waza une opportunité d’expérimenter les possibilités d’intégration d’une économie solidaire au sein même de son écosystème local. L’objectif principal étant de construire collectivement un véritable espace vivant et une équipe de coordination plus ouverte et redevable. 

Photo_waza.jpg