UGO DEHAES

PICKLED PUNKS

Installation

portret%2520ugo%2520dehaes%25202020%2520

Biography

PickledPunks8.png

In 2018 he started the search for dance without human bodies, and now works as a choreographer of things: He builds robotic sculptures for Tweetakt Festival (NL), Zomertank (Leuven, BE) and Le Pavillon (Namur, BE). For the stage he creates the show/reading Forced Labora with small organic robots and the show/installation Forced Labor: Arena where the audience helps to train an Artificial Intelligence.

In 2021 he starts a collaboration with the University of Brussels (creativity through computer science) and Axiles Bionics (robotic prosthesis).

 

Since 2015 Ugo is a member of the Young Academy of Flanders, a meeting of young scientists and artists.

 

In the meantime Ugo has guided numerous workshops and workshops and has worked for other artists such as Stijn Grupping (Post Uit Hesdalen), Ehsan Hemat, Samah Hijawi, Stéphane Arcas, Sachiyo Takahashi, Emil Hrvatin, Arco Renz, Gisèle Vienne & Etienne Bideau-Rey, Katalin Patkaï, Nada Gambier, Antonin De Bemels, Heine R. Avdal,...

Ugo Dehaes (1977, Belgium) started dancing at the age of 18. He does his professional training at P.A.R.T.S, the school of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas. In 1998, he joined the company Damaged Goods of Meg Stuart, with whom he toured the world for 3 years, and in 2000, he founded his own company, kwaad bloed and constantly creates new choreographies for various dancers (professional, amateur, adults of all ages and children). 

 

In a first phase he is fascinated by the visual and mechanical side of the human body. 

The second phase of his work consists of very physical pieces where he combines the virtuosity of the dancers with their personality. 

The third phase revolves around the link between art and science. In these pieces Ugo translates scientific concepts into movement.

Artwork

Pickled Punks is an installation that presents a series of robots contained in methanol jars that appear as machines still to be born. The robots operate with an underdeveloped form of artificial intelligence that makes them move and eventually react to the presence of the viewer. The work questions our relationship to creation and questions our need to humanize other entities such as animals or objects.

 

The artist questions the part of feelings that we grant to objects and asks the question of their limits. If a robot is dead, what should we do? Should we throw it away, organize a funeral? The Pickles Punks seek to question the visitor on the ambivalence between an objectified human, here embryonic forms that have become objects, and the humanized object, an unborn robot that identifies itself with a fetus.

PickledPunks4.png

UGO DEHAES

PICKLED PUNKS

Installation

portret%2520ugo%2520dehaes%25202020%2520

Biographie

PickledPunks8.png

En 2018 il entame la recherche de la danse sans corps humains, et travaille désormais comme chorégraphe des choses: Il construit des sculptures robotiques pour Tweetakt Festival (NL), Zomertank (Louvain, BE) et Le Pavillon (Namur, BE). Pour la scene il crée le spectacle/lecture Forced Labor avec des petits robots organiques et le spectacle/installation Forced Labor: Arena ou le publique aide à entrainer une Intelligence Artificiel.

En 2021 il commence une collaboration avec l'Université de Bruxelles (créativité par l'informatique) et Axiles Bionics (prothèses robotiques).

 

Depuis 2015 Ugo est membre de la Jeune Academie de la Flandre, une réunion de jeunes scientifiques et artistes prominents.

 

Entretemps Ugo a guidé de nombreux workshops et ateliers et il a travaillé pour d'autres artistes comme Stijn Grupping (Post Uit Hessdalen), Ehsan Hemat, Samah Hijawi, Stéphane Arcas, Sachiyo Takahashi, Emil Hrvatin, Arco Renz, Gisèle Vienne & Etienne Bideau-Rey, Katalin Patkaï, Nada Gambier, Antonin De Bemels, Heine R. Avdal,...

Ugo Dehaes (1977, Belgique) commence la danse à l'age de 18 ans. Il fait sa formation professionnelle à P.A.R.T.S, l'école de Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas. En 1998, il rejoint la compagnie Damaged Goods de Meg Stuart, avec qui il parcours le monde entier pendant 3 années. En 2000, il fonde sa propre compagnie, kwaad bloed (mauvais sang) et crée constamment de nouvelles chorégraphies pour des danseurs variés (professionnel, amateurs, adultes de toute age et enfants). 

Dans une premiere phase il est fasciné par le côté visuel et mechanic du corps humain. 

La deuxième phase de son oeuvre consiste de pièces très physiques ou il combine la virtuosité des danseurs avec leur personnalité. 

La troisième phasetourne autour le lien entre l'art et la science. Dans ces pièces-ci Ugo traduit des conceptes scientifiques en mouvements.

 

PICKLED PUNKS

Pickled Punks est une installation qui présente une série de robots contenus dans des bocaux de méthanol et qui apparaissent comme des machines encore à naître. Les robots fonctionnent avec une forme sous-développée d'intelligence artificielle qui les fait bouger. L'œuvre questionne notre rapport à la création et interroge notre besoin d’humaniser d’autres entités telles que les animaux ou les objets.

L’artiste questionne la part de sentiments que nous accordons aux objets et pose la question de leurs limites. Si un robot est mort, que devons-nous faire? Faut-il le jeter ou lui organiser un enterrement? Les Pickles Punks cherchent à questionner le visiteur sur l'ambivalence entre un humain objectivé, ici des formes embryonnaires devenues objets et l’objet humanisé, un robot à naître qui s’identifie à un foetus.

PickledPunks4.png