NANI$OKA

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

DIGITAL

MASKS

Dates:  March 10, April 5 - 3:00pm GMT

Location: Instagram & Website

Description

"Digital masks are often used in Insta and Facebook stories. Beauty filters, distorting or downright fanciful filters, they allow you to stage yourself on the networks and develop autofiction. They recall the primary function of the mask: to conceal its identity in a subversive way, but also its spiritual vocation by allowing contact with another dimension or metaphysical entities. Nani$ôka masks are tools for acting in the digital space, proposing rituals to be shared. Their publication implies from the outset the pooling and dissemination of the artistic gesture in digital space. They invite us to re-enchant our network practices.

 

"Once upon a time, there was a biological cataclysm that shook the earth and the cosmos. Digital entities taught some living beings a new way of relating. Firefox was born Phoenix, then transformed into a firebird and finally became Fire Fox. It guides beings moving in the digital space. It masters Wireless Fidelity (WIFI: Wirelless Fidelity), a form of social energy, magic, manaa. This very long range connection mode allows Fire Fox to move around the world at the speed of the waves. On its way, it crosses human beings and accompanies their quests".

 

In this time of pandemic, digital is more than ever at the heart of our lives. It allows us to continue to be together, to communicate with our loved ones, to circulate our ideas. It is hard to imagine doing without it. The evidence is there: a large part of humanity lives in digital worlds and our devices are becoming an extension of our bodies. Yet, during the confinement, something fundamental is missing: conviviality, the physical presence of others.

 

Nani$ôka group reinjects spirituality and poetry to the digital world and thinks about rituals to get in touch with its entities. From these practices, legends emerge and stories are invented. These speculative fictions propose to rethink our present and to question our relationship to worlds in the digital age. There are few symbolic discourses to apprehend the digital space and the entities that populate it. 

 

Since this reflection, Nani$ôka groupe has been composing "Digital Masks" to navigate between physical and digital space.

 

We created our first digital masks in 2019 during a residency in Zagreb, Croatia. We use the software Spark AR, edited by Facebook. It allows us to produce masks that can be published on Instagram and Facebook. Insta masks are often used in stories. Beauty filters, distorting filters or outright fantasy filters, the masks allow you to stage yourself on the networks and to elaborate an autofiction. They recall the primary function of the mask: to conceal one's identity in a subversive way, but also its spiritual vocation by allowing contact with another dimension or metaphysical entities. Nani$ôka masks are tools for acting in the digital space, proposing rituals to be shared. Their publication implies from the outset the pooling and dissemination of the artistic gesture in digital space. They invite us to re-enchant our network practices.

 

During the Afropixel #8 residency, each artist will be invited to think about the elements of a mask, its history, its legend and its action. We will create the mask with him/her by videoconference. Then he will be able to film himself with his mask and send us these images. We will make video capsules for each mask, showing its realisation, its history and its use. The masks can be published on the artist's insta account, that of Nani$ôka and Ker Thiossane during the afropixel festival. The videos will be published at the end of the residency, on the afropixel website and on our respective networks. The masks will thus be able to circulate in the digital space, inviting us to continue this collective narration. 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_30dd.jpg

Masks

COLLECTIF NANI$OKA

Nani$ôka Groupe is an artist collective founded in 2016.

 

Nani$ôka is composed of two Japanese words, Nani 何 and Sôka そつか that we are used to hear in animated manga. An infinite loop of questions and understandings. A perpetual search.

 

In the manner of a music label, each artist keeps an autonomous personal practice. We use the collective form as a means of emulation and enrichment of our practices. 

 

We have common axes of reflection which allow us to create events.

punctually on behalf of the collective. On these occasions, we combine our practices in order to arrive at a common proposal. The group format is also a political positioning that allows us to exist in an artistic context where competition is often privileged over cooperation.

 

Our main lines of research can be summarised as follows:

- The festival as a political and artistic space, to be done in concert.

- Spirituality and digital space. Rhythms and Rites of Homo Numéricus.

How can we think of forms and symbols of contemporary spirituality that take into account digital space as well as physical space? How to make them into situated cosmogonies?

 

We create events that attempt to break down the artist/audience boundary. To do so, we build spaces adapted to these events: a place to host a particular rite. We also invest the digital space like painters, exploring a range of software.

 

We also seek to ensure that our forms invite community, to develop an attention to others. This is why we question the Concert format in the sense of "doing together".

seumboy1.jpg

SEUMBOY

REAL NAME

Seumboy Vrainom: € is an activist above ground. Not uprooted but well above ground, like certain plants cultivated in the colonial agronomy garden near Paris between 1902 and 1965. He tries to develop a spiritual and political approach to digital space through performances and videos.

hugo3.jpg

HV $ VH

HV $ VH is an apprentice alchemist who attempts to transmute

emotions and interactions between people, using visual waves and

sound. He builds pictorial and sound spaces through painting and music.

loris1.jpg

LORIS

GASMARAN

Loris Gasmaran is an apprentice geomancer. He's been trying since

the ground, to bring out three-dimensional artefacts (figures) (.elles)

whose meaning can be interpreted by combining mathematics and

the history of forms.

photodegroupe.jpg
photogroupe2.jpg
camille2.jpg
shivay_LaMultiple.jpg

Shivay La Multiple teaches reason the language of dreams and combines different mediums to create her own symbolic system. Shivay La Multiple's worlds are never fixed, they are protean, constantly in motion and in perpetual mutation. Her research is composed of several layers made of numerous threads and knots, mirroring the present time, leaving, like a carpet, traces of the past between the threads of the weft and suggesting the possibilities of the future.

SHIVAY

THE MULTIPLE

Camille Varenne makes documentary films that explore new feminist and decolonial practices, new emancipatory languages, new political subjectivities. Anchored in reality, the characters in his films develop liberating autofictions.

CAMILLE

VARENNE

RESIDENTS

MoiseTogo.jpg

MOSES

TOGO

MALI

Graduated from the Bamako Conservatory (Mali) in multimedia section and from the Fresnoy-Studio national des arts contemporains (France). Moïse Togo has been passionate about art from a young age, he began his university studies in 2010 at the Faculty of Legal and Political Sciences of Bamako-Mali. Then, his artistic ambitions lead him to the conservatory of Bamako then to Fresnoy. His work questions the evolution of African belief in a modern, virtual world; new technology and the social conditions of being. He became known as a director with his film "GWACOULOU" which won the grand jury prize of Dakar-court 2020. The plasticity of his work varies from one production to another because his approach consists of experimentation in order to create other cinematographic writings. Currently, he lives and works in Roubaix in France.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

ArminKane.jpg

ARMIN

KANE

SENEGAL

Multidisciplinary artist, Armin touches as well, painting, sculpture, patchwork, assemblage, installation and video. His plastic work generally questions the

behavior of people who are looking for landmarks / haunts in the face of changes.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

He has participated in artistic residencies in Dakar, Brussels, Madrid, Mali .... as well as national and international exhibitions in Dakar, St Louis, Amsterdam, Rennes,

Casablanca, Berlin, Istanbul, Italy, Manchester, Quito, Ecuador, Fez,

Casablanca, Namur, Italy ....

He participated in workshops at IRAVM (Regional Institute of Visual Art of Martinique) as part of the digital wind rose and in theoretical and practical workshops on the educational suitcase and interactive art at KER

THIOSSANE in Dakar

Selected at the 8th Dakar Biennale (Dak'Art 2008), he is part of the “State of

L3 ”. He is also a founding member of "Studio KAKATAR", a structure which is active in the field of production and realization of animated films.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Animator, since 2005, at the expression workshop of the psychiatric clinic Moussa DIOP of the CHNU of Fann in Dakar for interned patients (art therapy), Armin is also an external speaker at the child psychiatry unit `` Ker Xaleyi '' of the same structure.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

He has been working since 2015 in a project of `` artistic research laboratory in the city '' in

Dakar and Brussels on the theme of '' COMMON PLACE ''.

DaoSada.jpg

DAO

SADA

Burkina Faso

After a school and technical training course in the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire and in Burkina Faso, Sada DAO embarked on scenography in 1998 to become one of the most confirmed African scenographers. Founder and former official artistic director of Face-O-Scéno, he works as a full-time scenographer and dreams of opening a scenography school in Burkina Faso.

Sada DAO asserts its identity as a committed African artist, without denying interbreeding, other languages ​​and aesthetics. He seeks to place his stage design approach at the very start of the African continent, as an art and technique inherent in the live shows that are practiced there.

In 2008, he was nominated Best Scenographer of the Grand Prix du Théâtre d'Afrique Francophone, for the course of Face-O-Scéno. In 2009, he was selected for the nominations for the Critics' Prize in Scenography in Belgium, for the creation, “Un homme est un homme”, directed by René GEORGES and Salifou KIENTEGA.

In 2014, he created the show “Nabi-Bila” in Ouagadougou, which will be performed in France in two different departments in 2019. His project is to develop this creation and bring it to life on several continents.

In 2016 he won the Lompolo prize for best scenographer in Burkina Faso

He continued his research and training work by obtaining in September 2019 a Higher National Diploma in Plastic Expression at the Ecole Supérieure d'Arts de Clermont-Ferrand (ESACM).

NANI$OKA

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

MASQUES NUMÉRIQUES

Dates:  20 mars & 5 avril  - 15 h GMT

Lieu: Instagram & Website

Description

"Les masques numériques sont souvent utilisés en stories Insta et Facebook. Filtres de beauté, filtres déformants ou carrément fantaisistes, ils permettent de se mettre en scène sur les réseaux et d'élaborer une autofiction. Ils rappellent la fonction première du masque : dissimuler son identité dans une démarche subversive, mais aussi sa vocation spirituelle en permettant d'entrer en contact avec une autre dimension ou des entités métaphysiques. Les masques Nani$ôka sont des outils pour agir dans l'espace numérique, proposer des rituels en partage. Leur publication implique d’emblée la mise en commun, la dissémination du geste artistique dans l'espace numérique. Ils invitent à réenchanter nos pratiques des réseaux.

"Il était une fois, un cataclysme biologique qui ébranla la terre et le cosmos. Les entités numériques enseignèrent à certains êtres vivants une nouvelle manière d'être en relation. Firefox est né.e Phoenix, puis s'est transformé.e en oiseau de feu pour enfin devenir Renard de Feu. Iel guide les êtres qui se déplacent dans l'espace numérique. Iel maîtrise La Fidélité sans fil (WIFI : Wirelless Fidelity), une forme d'énergie sociale, de magie, de manaa. Ce mode de connexion à très grande portée permet à Renard de Feu de se déplacer dans le monde à la vitesse des ondes. Sur son chemin, iel croise des humain.e.s et accompagne leurs quêtes."

 

En ce moment de pandémie, le numérique est plus que jamais au cœur de nos vies. Il nous permet de continuer à être ensemble, à communiquer avec nos proches, à faire circuler nos idées. Il devient difficilement envisageable de s'en passer. L'évidence est là : une grande partie de l’humanité vit dans les mondes numériques et nos appareils deviennent le prolongement de nos corps. Pourtant, pendant le confinement, quelque chose de fondamental nous manque : la convivialité, la présence physique des autres.

 

Nani$ôka groupe réinjecte du spirituel et de la poésie au monde numérique et pense des rituels pour entrer en contact avec ses entités. De ces pratiques, des légendes émergent et des histoires s'inventent. Ces fictions spéculatives proposent de repenser notre présent et d'interroger notre rapport aux mondes à l'heure du numérique. Il existe peu de discours symboliques pour appréhender l'espace numérique et les entités qui le peuplent. 

 

Depuis cette réflexion, Nani$ôka groupe compose des "Masques Numériques" pour naviguer entre l'espace physique et l'espace numérique.

 

Nous avons créé nos premiers masques numériques en 2019 lors d'une résidence à Zagreb en Croatie. Nous utilisons le logiciel Spark AR, édité par Facebook. Il permet de produire des masques publiables sur Instagram et Facebook. Les masques insta sont souvent utilisés en stories. Filtres de beauté, filtres déformants ou carrément fantaisistes, les masques permettent de se mettre en scène sur les réseaux et d'élaborer une autofiction. Ils rappellent la fonction première du masque : dissimuler son identité dans une démarche subversive, mais aussi sa vocation spirituelle en permettant d'entrer en contact avec une autre dimension ou des entités métaphysiques. Les masques Nani$ôka sont des outils pour agir dans l'espace numérique, proposer des rituels en partage. Leur publication implique d’emblée la mise en commun, la dissémination du geste artistique dans l'espace numérique. Ils invitent à réenchanter nos pratiques des réseaux.

 

Lors de la résidence Afropixel #8, chaque artiste sera invité à penser les éléments d'un masque, son histoire, sa légende et sa mise en action. Nous réaliserons le masque avec lui en visioconférence. Puis, il pourra se filmer avec son masque et nous envoyer ces images. Nous réaliserons des capsules vidéo pour chaque masque, montrant sa réalisation, son histoire et son utilisation. Les masques pourront être publiés sur le compte insta de l'artiste, celui de Nani$ôka et de Ker Thiossane pendant le festival afropixel. Les vidéos seront publiés à la fin de la résidence, sur le site de afropixel et sur nos réseaux respectifs. Les masques pourront donc circuler dans l'espace numérique, invitant à poursuivre cette narration collective. 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_30dd.jpg

Masques

COLLECTIF NANI$OKA

Nani$ôka Groupe est un collectif d’artistes fondé depuis 2016.

 

Nani$ôka est composé de deux mots japonais, Nani 何 et Sôka そつか que nous avons l’habitude d’entendre dans les mangas animés. Une boucle infinie de questions et de compréhensions. Une recherche perpétuelle.

A la manière d’un label musical, chaque artiste garde une pratique personnelle autonome. Nous utilisons la forme collective comme un moyen d’émulation et d’enrichissement de nos pratiques. 

 

Nous avons des axes de réflexion communs qui nous permettent de réaliser des évènements

ponctuellement au nom du collectif. A ces occasions, nous combinons nos pratiques en vue d’arriver à une proposition commune. Le format groupe est également un positionnement politique qui nous permet d’exister dans un contexte artistique ou la compétition est souvent privilégiée face à la coopération.

 

Nos principaux axes de recherche peuvent être résumés de la sorte :

- La fête comme espace politique et artistique, faire en concert.

- La spiritualité et l’espace numérique. Rythmes et Rites de l’Homo Numéricus.

Comment penser des formes et des symboliques de spiritualités contemporaines qui prennent en compte l'espace numérique aussi bien que les espaces physiques ? Comment en faire des cosmogonies situées ?

 

Nous réalisons des événements qui tentent de casser la frontière artiste/public. Pour ce faire, nous construisons des espaces adaptés à ces événements : un lieu pour accueillir un rite particulier. Nous investissons également l’espace numérique comme des peintres, explorant une palette de logiciels.

 

Nous cherchons également à ce que nos formes invitent à faire communauté, à développer une attention aux autres. C’est pourquoi nous questionnons le format Concert au sens du «faire ensemble».

SEUMBOY

VRAINOM

Seumboy Vrainom :€ est un militant hors-sol. Pas déraciné mais bien hors-sol, comme certaines plantes cultivées au jardin d’agronomie colonial près de Paris entre 1902 et 1965. Il tente de mettre au point une approche spirituelle et politique de l’espace numérique à travers des performances et des vidéos.

HV$VH

HV$VH est un apprenti alchimiste qui tente de transmuter

des émotions et interactions entre les gens, à l’aide d’ondes visuelles et

sonore. Il construit des espaces picturaux et sonores par le biais de la peinture et de la musique.

LORIS

GASMARAN

Loris Gasmaran est un apprenti géomancien. Il tente, depuis

le sol, de faire émerger des artefacts (figures) tridimensionnels(.elles)

dont le sens peut être interprété en combinant la mathématique et

l’histoire des formes.

photodegroupe.jpg

Shivay La Multiple, apprend à la raison le language du rêve et combine différents médiums pour créer son propre système symbolique. Les Mondes de Shivay La Multiple ne sont jamais fixes, ils sont protéiformes, constamment en mouvement et en mutation perpétuelle. Sa recherche se compose de plusieurs couches faites de nombreux fils et nœuds, miroir du temps présent, laisse tel un tapis, entrevoir entre les fils de la trame la trace du passé et laisse deviner les possibles du futur.

SHIVAY

LA MULTIPLE

Camille Varenne réalise des films documentaires qui explorent de nouvelles pratiques féministes et décoloniales, de nouveaux langages émancipateurs, de nouvelles subjectivités politiques. Ancré dans le réel, les personnages de ses films élaborent des autofictions libératrices.

CAMILLE

VARENNE

RÉSIDENTS

MoiseTogo.jpg

MOÏSE

TOGO

MALI

Diplômé du conservatoire de Bamako (Mali) en section multimédia et du Fresnoy-Studio national des arts contemporains (France).

 

Moïse Togo est passionné par l’art depuis son plus jeune âge, il a commencé ses études universitaires en 2010 à la Faculté des sciences juridiques et politiques de Bamako-Mali.

 

Ensuite, ses ambitions artistiques l’amènent au conservatoire de Bamako puis au Fresnoy. Son travail questionne l’évolution de la croyance africaine dans un monde moderne, le virtuel ; la nouvelle technologie et les conditions sociales de l’être. Il se fait connaitre en tant que réalisateur avec son film « GWACOULOU » qui a remporté le grand prix du jury de Dakar-court 2020.

 

La plasticité de son travail varie d’une réalisation à une autre car sa démarche consiste l’expérimentation afin de créer d’autres écritures cinématographiques.

 

Actuellement, il vit et travaille à Roubaix en France.

ArminKane.jpg

ARMIN

KANE

SÉNÉGAL

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Armin touche aussi bien, la peinture, la sculpture, le patchwork,l’assemblage, l’installation et la vidéo. Son travail plastique questionne en général sur le

comportement des gens qui sont à la recherche de repères / repaires, face aux mutations.

Il a participé à des résidences artistiques, à Dakar, à Bruxelles, à Madrid, au Mali, etc. ainsi qu’à des expositions nationales et internationales à Dakar, St Louis, Amsterdam, à Rennes, à Casablanca, à Berlin, à Istanbul, en Italie, à Manchester, à Quito en Equateur, à Fez, à

Casablanca, Namur, Italie...

 

Il a participé à des workshops à l’IRAVM (Institut Régional d’Art visuel de la Martinique) dans le cadre du rose de vents numériques et aux Ateliers théoriques et pratiques sur la valise pédagogique et de l’art interactif à KER

THIOSSANE à Dakar

Sélectionné à la 8ème biennale de Dakar (Dak’Art 2008), Il fait partie du Collectif «State of

L3 ». Il est également membre fondateur du "Studio KAKATAR", une structure qui s’active dans le domaine de la production et la réalisation de films d’animation.

Animateur, depuis 2005, à l’atelier d’expression de la clinique psychiatrique Moussa DIOP du CHNU de Fann à Dakar pour les malades internés (art thérapie), Armin est aussi intervenant extérieur à l’unité de pédopsychiatrie "Ker Xaleyi"de la même structure.

Il travaille depuis 2015 dans un projet de ‘’laboratoire de recherche artistique dans la ville’’ à

Dakar et à Bruxelles sur le thème du "LIEU COMMUN".

DaoSada.jpg

DAO

SADA

Burkina Faso

Après un cursus scolaire et d’apprentissage technique en République de la Cote d’Ivoire et au Burkina Faso, Sada DAO se lance dans la scénographie en 1998 pour devenir l’un des scénographes africains les plus confirmés.Fondateur et ancien directeur artistique attitré de Face-O-Scéno, il travaille comme scénographe à temps plein et rêve d’ouvrir une école de scénographie au Burkina Faso.

Sada DAO revendique son identité d’artiste africain engagé, sans renier les métissages, les autres langages et esthétiques. Il cherche à inscrire sa démarche de scénographe au départ même du continent africain, comme art et technique inhérents aux spectacles vivants qui s’y pratiquent.

En 2008, il est nominé Meilleur Scénographe du Grand prix du Théâtre d’Afrique Francophone, pour le parcours de Face-O-Scéno. En 2009, il est sélectionné pour les nominations du Prix de la Critique en Scénographie en Belgique, pour la création, « Un homme est un homme », mise en scène par René GEORGES et Salifou KIENTEGA.

En 2014, il crée le spectacle « Nabi-Bila » à Ouagadougou, qui sera joué en France dans deux départements différents en 2019. Il a pour projet de développer cette création et de la faire vivre sur plusieurs continents.

En 2016 il décroche le prix Lompolo du meilleur scénographe au Burkina Faso

Il poursuit son travail de recherche et de formation en obtenant en septembre 2019 un Diplôme National Supérieur d’Expression Plastique à l’Ecole Supérieure d’Arts de Clermont-Ferrand (ESACM).