Medium

_edited_edited.jpg

Biography

05.JPG

MATTHIEU CHERUBINI

ETHICAL AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES

Matthieu Cherubini is a Swiss designer / software engineer based in Beijing where he works for Volkswagen Group - Innovation Center Asia. Previously, he was researching how to design and develop ethical principles in autonomous systems for a global market.

Ses travaux ont été présentés internationalement dans des musées comme le Nam June Paik Art Center, le Centre Pompidou, ZKM, Vitra Design Museum, Mori Art Museum ou House of Electronic Arts.

Artwork

Many automakers predict that by 2025, most cars will be running on stand-alone systems. While it is legitimate to believe that our roads will be safer with these autonomous systems, the unpredictability of real-life situations involving complex moral and ethical reasoning complicates this assumption.

How can such systems be designed to adapt to the complexity of moral and ethical thought processes, especially when human lives are involved? Like choosing the color of a car, ethics could become a commercial feature of autonomous vehicles that one could buy, change and redeem, according to one's personal taste.

Three distinct algorithms have been created - each adhering to an ethical principle - and integrated into virtual vehicles that will face various ethical dilemmas.

06
06

press to zoom
ProtectorBW_iB-01
ProtectorBW_iB-01

press to zoom
CapitalistBW_iB-01
CapitalistBW_iB-01

press to zoom
06
06

press to zoom
1/4

Installation

_edited_edited.jpg

Biographie

05.JPG

MATTHIEU CHERUBINI

ETHICAL AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES

Matthieu Cherubini est un designer / ingénieur software Suisse basé à Pékin où il travaille pour Volkswagen Group - Innovation Center Asia. Précédemment, il faisait une recherche sur comment designer et développer des principes éthiques dans des systèmes autonomes qui sont destinés à un marché global.

 

Ses travaux ont été présentés internationalement dans des musées comme le Nam June Paik Art Center, le Centre Pompidou, ZKM, Vitra Design Museum, Mori Art Museum ou House of Electronic Arts.

ETHICAL AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES

De nombreux constructeurs automobiles prévoient que d'ici 2025, la plupart des voitures fonctionneront avec des systèmes autonomes. S'il est légitime de penser que nos routes seront plus sûres grâce à ces systèmes autonomes, l'imprévisibilité des situations réelles qui impliquent la complexité du raisonnement moral et éthique complique cette hypothèse.

Comment de tels systèmes peuvent-ils être conçus pour s'adapter à la complexité des processus de pensée moraux et éthiques, en particulier lorsqu'il s'agit de vies humaines? Tout comme le choix de la couleur d'une voiture, l'éthique pourrait devenir une caractéristique commerciale des véhicules autonomes que l'on pourrait acheter, changer et racheter, selon ses goûts personnels.

Trois algorithmes distincts ont été créés - chacun adhérant à un principe éthique - et intégrés dans des véhicules virtuels qui seront confrontés à divers dilemmes éthiques.

06
06

press to zoom
ProtectorBW_iB-01
ProtectorBW_iB-01

press to zoom
CapitalistBW_iB-01
CapitalistBW_iB-01

press to zoom
06
06

press to zoom
1/4