KER THIOSSANE

Ker Thiossane is a multimedia art center based in Dakar, Senegal

Kër Thiossane's team, in collaboration with Deynaba Gabrielle Ndiaye, teacher-researcher in social psychology at the Cheikh Anta Diop University of Dakar (Faculty of Letters and Human Sciences), carried out about fifteen filmed interviews. Neighbours, artists, civil society actors, activists, religious leaders, etc. were interviewed in Wolof about their perception of living together today in Senegal.

Capture d’écran 2021-02-27 à 12.41.14.pn

POWER TO THE COMMONS SÉNÉGAL

During the whole festival, news vidéos will be added, in Wolof, French and English. At the menu: Gouvernance & Communs - Definitions of Commons - Nature & Commons - Neighbourhood & CommOns - Education & Commons - Peace & Commons - Common living & Commons - Traditions & Commons - Artists et Commons - Covid & Commons - Spirituality & Commons.

Voisinage et commun FR

Afropixel TV
Voisinage et commun FR
Search video...
Voisinage et commun FR

Voisinage et commun FR

08:43
Play Video
Voisinage et commun ENG

Voisinage et commun ENG

08:43
Play Video
Paix et Harmonie FR

Paix et Harmonie FR

05:48
Play Video
Harmonie paix ENG

Harmonie paix ENG

05:49
Play Video

THE SCHOOL OF THE COMMONS - a societal laboratory based on artistic experimentation, free culture and shared knowledge

 

In the heart of the capital of Dakar, the Kër Thiossane School of Communes aims to develop or consolidate actions of solidarity, neighbourhood and citizenship, through art and technology. It seeks the possibility of elaborating "solutions" to urban and social problems, on the basis of meetings and various projects, to defend the awareness of a common interest.

IMG_0135.JPG
RESTITU FAB_16.jpg

While the Commons'movement in the North was beginning to create schools of the People's University type, in 2013, Kër Thiossane wanted to formalise the actions initiated since 2012 around common goods, in Senegal, by opening a school where the En-Commun would be experimented with on a daily basis in its neighbourhood, around a shared artistic garden and a Fablab centre, at the heart of the public space. An open space for transdisciplinary research and experimentation, combining art, technology, urban ecology, economy and good neighbourly practices. 

Kër Thiossane based this school in the district of Sicap, a district known to have been the first residential area of the capital designed by President Senghor, which has deteriorated considerably in forty years. Kër Thiossane set up the Ecole des Communs on a co-ownership area abandoned in the neighbourhood, which used to be a public garden that had become a dump and a place of aggression. In agreement with the inhabitants of the adjoining buildings and local institutions, the "Jet d'eau" artistic garden and the fablab "Defko Ak Niep" (Do it with others) were first started in 2014, followed by a permaculture education centre, the "Solidarity Garden" in 2016. 

20190708_094406.jpg
P1011381.JPG

Within this framework, the association regularly offers quality artistic and digital content, based on free culture and the sharing of knowledge. Through activities alternating between artists' interventions, urban or traditional cultures, workshops dedicated to advanced technologies, electronics, botany..., meetings and public discussions, Kër Thiossane has in a few years made tangible this utopia of recreating common ground and hope in this public space that had been abandoned until then, and which everyone was lamenting. This school for the common people really triggered a trigger in the minds of the inhabitants of the buildings and the neighbourhood about the possibility of taking back their living environment.

KER THIOSSANE

Ker Thiossane est un centre d'art multimédia basé à Dakar au Sénégal

L'équipe de Kër Thiossane, en collaboration avec Dieynaba Gabrielle Ndiaye, enseignant-chercheur en psychologie sociale à l'Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar (Faculté des lettres et des sciences humaines) a réalisé une quinzaine d'entretiens filmés. Voisins, artistes, acteurs de la société civile, militants, chefs religieux, etc. ont été interrogés en wolof sur leur perception du vivre ensemble aujourd'hui au Sénégal.

Capture d’écran 2021-03-10 à 09.11.32.pn

POWER TO THE COMMONS SÉNÉGAL

Au fil du festival, de nouvelles vidéos vous seront proposées, en wolof, français et en anglais. Au programme Gouvernance & Communs - Définitions des Communs - Nature & Communs - Voisinage & Communs - Éducation & Communs - Paix & Communs  - Vivre-ensemble & Communs - Traditions & Communs - Artistes et Communs - Covid & Communs - Spiritualité et Communs.

L'ECOLE DES COMMUNS - un laboratoire sociétal basé sur l'expérimentation artistique, la culture libre et les savoirs partagés


Au coeur de la capitale dakaroise, l'école des Communs de Kër Thiossane a pour objectif de développer ou consolider des actions de solidarité,de voisinage et de citoyenneté, à travers l'art et les technologies. Elle cherche la possibilité d'élaborer des « solutions » aux problèmes urbains et sociaux, sur la base de rencontres et de projets divers, de défendre la conscience d'un intérêt commun.

IMG_0135.JPG
RESTITU FAB_16.jpg

Alors que le mouvement des Communs commençait au Nord à créer des Écoles de type Universités populaires, en 2013, Kër Thiossane a voulu formaliser les actions amorcées depuis 2012 autour des biens communs, au Sénégal, en ouvrant une école où l'En-Commun serait expérimenté, au quotidien, dans son quartier, autour d'un jardin artistique partagé et d'un pôle Fablab, au cœur de l'espace public. Un espace de recherche et d'expérimentation transdisciplinaire ouvert, croisant art, technologie, écologie urbaine, économie, et pratique de bon voisinage. 

Kër Thiossane a basé cette école dans son quartier de Sicap, un quartier connu pour avoir été le premier quartier résidentiel de la capitale pensé par le président Senghor qui s'est considérablement dégradé en quarante ans. C’est sur un espace de copropriété délaissé du voisinage, autrefois jardin public devenu dépotoir et lieu d’agression que Kër Thiossane a implanté l’Ecole des Communs. En accord avec les habitants des immeubles mitoyens et les institutions locales, le « jardin artistique Jet d’eau » et le fablab « Defko Ak Niep" (Fais le avec les autres) ont abord été amorcés en 2014 puis un pôle d’éducation à la permaculture le « Jardin solidaire » en 2016. 

20190708_094406.jpg
P1011381.JPG

Dans ce cadre, l'association propose régulièrement des contenus artistiques et numériques de qualité, basés sur la culture libre et le partage des savoirs. À travers des activités alternant interventions d’artistes, cultures urbaines ou traditionnelles, ateliers dédiés aux technologies de pointes, à l'électronique, la botanique…, rencontres et discussions publiques, Kër Thiossane a en quelques années rendu tangible cette utopie de recréer du commun et de l'espoir sur cet espace public jusque-là laissé à l'abandon, dont tout le monde se lamentait. Cette école des communs a véritablement déclenché un déclic dans l'esprit des habitants des immeubles et du quartier sur la possibilité de reprendre en main leur cadre de vie.