GLOSSARY

COMMONS

What are the "commons", the "common goods", the "common heritage", the "common things"? These notions are strongly mobilized today in many social science disciplines and citizen actions. Their growth reflects an evolution in social practices: under the pressure of the ecological crisis and digital transformation in particular, goods are increasingly being shared. Free software, encyclopedia and participative housing, bicycles or cars in successive use, an undertaking that would be the "common good" of all stakeholders: notions of the common good are of interest in the fields of culture, environmental protection, urban planning, health, innovation, work, etc. Mobilization is intense because they allow us to think about social change on the basis of reinvestment by the collective, communities, use and sharing. They make it possible to propose reinterpretations of the founding values of contemporary societies such as the role of the State, property and forms of expression of democracy. They call for both theoretical reflection and political debate, and are translated into concrete citizen experiences. This dictionary, halfway between a vocabulary and an encyclopedia, is intended to be a tool for understanding all of these phenomena.

 

Dictionary of common goods

 

COMMON GOODS

The common good is a notion first developed by theology and philosophy, then grasped by law and social sciences and invoked by political actors. It refers to the idea of a patrimonial good shared by the members of a community, in the spiritual and moral sense of the word "good", as well as in the material and practical sense (what one has or possesses).

 

Western philosophy has been questioning what constitutes a community since Plato and Aristotle. The concept of the common good appears in Christian theology from Thomas Aquinas in the 13th century, where it refers to the natural inclination of creation as a whole (including the human community) towards the Good that is God.

 

This notion is often used in questions of ownership of certain resources and refers to the relationship between access to equitably shared resources and interests that unite the members of a community and contribute to its existence. For the Italian political scientist and economist Riccardo Petrella, the common good is what sustains societies. According to the French economist Jean-Marie Harribey (2011), this notion, which also involves the notion of property, is notably linked to the progressive awareness of the existence of a common heritage of humanity. 

GOOD LIVING

The "good living" is a concept based on the Andean indigenous wisdom (Sumak Kawsay** in Quechua and Suma Qamaña*** in Aymara language) and the practice of more balanced relationships within ecosystems and between all beings, human and non-human, as a path to common well-being. For Plato, this is the vision that guides our practices and our missionary starting point. The Platohedro organization is based on research around this concept: "what we do is linked and adapts to this way of thinking, doing and being. And as such, we consider it a dynamic concept, which we translate and make our own with respect and attention, situating it in time, context, needs and desires".

 

Platohedro Organization

AI

Definition of Artificial Intelligence: Artificial Intelligence (AI) is the implementation of a number of techniques to enable machines to mimic a form of real intelligence. AI is being implemented in a growing number of application areas.

 

The concept was born in the 1950s thanks to the mathematician Alan Turing. In his book Computing Machinery and Intelligence, he raises the question of bringing a form of intelligence to machines. He described a test now known as the "Turing Test" in which a subject interacts blindly with another human and then with a machine programmed to formulate sensible answers. If the subject is not able to tell the difference, then the machine has passed the test and, according to the author, can truly be considered "intelligent".

 

Futura Tech

DEEP LEARNING

Deep learning is a type of artificial intelligence derived from machine learning, where the machine is able to learn by itself, as opposed to programming, where it simply executes predetermined rules to the letter.

 

Deep Learning is based on a network of artificial neurons inspired by the human brain. This network is composed of tens or even hundreds of "layers" of neurons, each receiving and interpreting information from the previous layer. The system will, for example, learn to recognize letters before attacking words in a text, or determine if there is a face in a photo before finding out which person it is. 

 

At each step, the "wrong" answers are eliminated and sent back to the upstream levels to adjust the mathematical model. As it does so, the program reorganizes the information into more complex blocks. When this model is subsequently applied to other cases, it is normally able to recognize a cat without anyone ever telling it that it has never learned the concept of a cat. The starting data is essential: the more different experiences the system accumulates, the better it will perform.

Futura Tech

GAN

A GAN (Generative Antagonistic Network) is a Machine Learning technique based on the competition between two networks within a framework. The generator is a type of convolutional neural network whose role is to create new instances of an object. On the other hand, the discriminator is a "deconvolutional" neural network that determines the authenticity of the object or whether or not it is part of a data set.

During the training process, these two entities are in competition and this is what allows them to improve their respective behaviors. This is called retropropagation. The objective of the generator is to produce outputs without being able to determine if they are false, while the objective of the discriminator is to identify the false ones. Thus, as the process proceeds, the generator produces better quality outputs while the discriminator detects the false ones better. In fact, the illusion becomes more and more convincing over time.

 

Big Data

CAN

CAN (Creative Adversarial Network) is a logarithm created by the Rutgers Art and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. In art, this algorithm is programmed to create original works of art. One part of the algorithm analyzes the existing aesthetics, creates a work of art and the second part penalizes if what is created is similar to the analyzed styles. On the one hand, it tries to learn the aesthetics of existing artworks. On the other hand, he will be penalized if, when creating his own work, he imitates too closely an established style.

 

At the same time, AICAN adheres to the principle of "least effort", according to which too much novelty will discourage viewers.

 

This ensures that the art generated will be new but will not deviate too far from what is considered acceptable. Ideally, it will create something new that builds on what already exists.

BIG DATA

The quantitative explosion of digital data has forced researchers to find new ways of seeing and analyzing the world. It's about discovering new orders of magnitude for capturing, searching, sharing, storing, analyzing, and presenting data. Thus was born the "Big Data". It is a concept for storing an inexpressible amount of information on a numerical basis. According to the Association for Computing Machinery (or ACM) Digital Library archives in scientific articles about the technological challenges of visualizing "big data sets", the term was coined in October 1997.

 

Big Data

COGNITIVE BIAS

A cognitive bias is a distortion in the cognitive processing of information. The term bias refers to a systematic deviation of logical and rational thinking from reality. Cognitive biases lead the subject to give different importance to facts of the same nature and can be detected when paradoxes or errors appear in a reasoning or judgment.

 

Wikipedia

GLOSSAIRE

COMMUNS

Que sont les « communs », les « biens communs », les « patrimoines communs », les « choses communes » ? Ces notions sont fortement mobilisées aujourd'hui dans nombre de disciplines des sciences sociales et actions de citoyens. Leur poussée traduit une évolution des pratiques sociales : sous la pression de la crise écologique et de la transformation numérique notamment, les biens seraient davantage mis en partage. Logiciel libre, encyclopédie et habitat participatif, vélos ou voitures en usage successif, entreprise qui serait le « bien commun » de toutes les parties prenantes : les notions des communs intéressent les domaines de la culture, de la protection de l'environnement, de l'urbanisme, de la santé, de l'innovation, du travail, etc. La mobilisation est intense car elles autorisent à penser le changement social sur la base d'un réinvestissement du collectif, des communautés, de l'usage et du partage. Elles permettent de proposer des réinterprétations des valeurs fondatrices des sociétés contemporaines tels le rôle de l'État, de la propriété et des formes d'expression de la démocratie. Elles appellent à la fois une réflexion théorique, un débat politique et se concrétisent dans des expériences citoyennes. Ce dictionnaire, à mi-chemin entre le vocabulaire et l'encyclopédie, se veut un outil de compréhension de l'ensemble de ces phénomènes.

 

Dictionnaire des biens communs

BIEN COMMUN

Le bien commun est une notion développée d'abord par la théologie et la philosophie, puis saisie par le droit, les sciences sociales et invoquée par les acteurs politiques. Elle désigne l'idée d'un bien patrimonial partagé par les membres d'une communauté, au sens spirituel et moral du mot         « bien », de même qu'au sens matériel et pratique (ce dont on dispose ou ce que l'on possède).

La philosophie occidentale s'interroge sur ce qui constitue une communauté depuis Platon et Aristote. Le concept de bien commun figure dans la théologie chrétienne à partir de Thomas d'Aquin, au XIIIe siècle, où il désigne l'inclination naturelle de la création dans son ensemble (dont la communauté humaine) vers le Bien qui est Dieu.

 

Cette notion est souvent utilisée pour les questions relatives à la propriété de certaines ressources et désigne la relation entre l'accès à des ressources équitablement partagées et des intérêts qui soudent les membres d'une communauté et contribuent à son existence. Pour le politologue et économiste italien Riccardo Petrella, le bien commun est ce qui fait vivre les sociétés. Selon l'économiste français Jean-Marie Harribey (2011), cette notion, qui met aussi en jeu celle de propriété, serait notamment liée à la prise de conscience progressive de l'existence d'un patrimoine commun de l'humanité. 

BIEN VIVRE

Le "bien vivre" est un concept basé sur la sagesse indigène andine (Sumak Kawsay** en quechua et Suma Qamaña*** en langue aymara) et la pratique de relations plus équilibrées au sein des écosystèmes et entre tous les êtres, humains et non humains, comme chemin vers un bien-être commun. Pour Platon, c'est la vision qui guide nos pratiques et notre point de départ missionnaire. L'organisation Platohedro est basée sur des recherches autour de ce concept:"nous faisons est lié et s'adapte à cette façon de penser, de faire et d'être. Et en tant que tel, nous le considérons comme un concept dynamique, que nous traduisons et faisons nôtre avec respect et attention en le situant dans le temps, le contexte, les besoins et les désirs".

Organisation Platohedro

IA

Définition de l'intelligence artificielle : L'intelligence artificielle (IA, ou AI en anglais pour Artificial Intelligence) consiste à mettre en œuvre un certain nombre de techniques visant à permettre aux machines d'imiter une forme d'intelligence réelle. L'IA se retrouve implémentée dans un nombre grandissant de domaines d'application.

La notion voit le jour dans les années 1950 grâce au mathématicien Alan Turing. Dans son livre Computing Machinery and Intelligence, ce dernier soulève la question d'apporter aux machines une forme d'intelligence. Il décrit alors un test aujourd'hui connu sous le nom « Test de Turing » dans lequel un sujet interagit à l'aveugle avec un autre humain, puis avec une machine programmée pour formuler des réponses sensées. Si le sujet n'est pas capable de faire la différence, alors la machine a réussi le test et, selon l'auteur, peut véritablement être considérée comme « intelligente ».

Futura Tech

DEEP LEARNING

Le deep learning ou apprentissage profond est un type d'intelligence artificielle dérivé du machine learning (apprentissage automatique) où la machine est capable d'apprendre par elle-même, contrairement à la programmation où elle se contente d'exécuter à la lettre des règles prédéterminées.

Le deep Learning s'appuie sur un réseau de neurones artificiels s'inspirant du cerveau humain. Ce réseau est composé de dizaines voire de centaines de « couches » de neurones, chacune recevant et interprétant les informations de la couche précédente. Le système apprendra par exemple à reconnaître les lettres avant de s'attaquer aux mots dans un texte, ou détermine s'il y a un visage sur une photo avant de découvrir de quelle personne il s'agit. 

À chaque étape, les « mauvaises » réponses sont éliminées et renvoyées vers les niveaux en amont pour ajuster le modèle mathématique. Au fur et à mesure, le programme réorganise les informations en blocs plus complexes. Lorsque ce modèle est par la suite appliqué à d'autres cas, il est normalement capable de reconnaître un chat sans que personne ne lui ait jamais indiqué qu'il n'ai jamais appris le concept de chat. Les données de départ sont essentielles : plus le système accumule d'expériences différentes, plus il sera performant.

Futura Tech

 

GAN

Un GAN(réseau antagoniste génératif en français) est une technique de Machine Learning qui repose sur la mise en compétition de deux réseaux au sein d’un framework. Le générateur est un type de réseau neuronal convolutif dont le rôle est de créer de nouvelles instances d’un objet. De l'autre côté, le discriminateur est un réseau neuronal "déconvolutif" qui détermine l’authenticité de l’objet ou s’il fait ou non partie d’un ensemble de données.

Pendant le processus d’entraînement, ces deux entités sont en compétition et c’est ce qui leur permet d’améliorer leurs comportements respectifs. C’est ce que l’on appelle la rétropropagation. L’objectif du générateur est de produire des outputs sans que l’on puisse déterminer s’ils sont faux, tandis que l’objectif du discriminateur est d’identifier les faux. Ainsi, au fil du processus, le générateur produit des outputs de meilleure qualité tandis que le discriminateur détecte de mieux ne mieux les faux. De fait, l’illusion est de plus en plus convaincante au fil du temps.

Big Data

CAN

 Le CAN (Creative Adversarial Network) est un logarithme créé par le laboratoire d’art et d’intelligence artificielle de Rutgers. En art, cet algorithme est programmé pour créer des œuvres originales, une partie de l’algorithme analyse l’esthétique existante, crée une œuvre d’art et la seconde partie pénalise si ce qui est créé est similaire aux styles analysés. D'un côté, il essaie d'apprendre l'esthétique des œuvres d'art existantes. De l'autre, il sera pénalisé si, lors de la création d'une œuvre propre, il imite trop étroitement un style établi.

 

Dans le même temps, AICAN adhère au principe du "moindre effort", selon lequel trop de nouveauté découragera les spectateurs.

 

Cela garantit que l'art généré sera nouveau mais ne s'écartera pas trop de ce qui est considéré comme acceptable. Dans l'idéal, il créera quelque chose de nouveau qui s'appuiera sur ce qui existe déjà.

 

Interalia Magazine

BIG DATA

L’explosion quantitative des données numériques a obligé les chercheurs à trouver de nouvelles manières de voir et d’analyser le monde. Il s’agit de découvrir de nouveaux ordres de grandeur concernant la capture, la recherche, le partage, le stockage, l’analyse et la présentation des données. Ainsi est né le « Big Data ». Il s’agit d’un concept permettant de stocker un nombre indicible d’informations sur une base numérique. Selon les archives de la bibliothèque numérique de l’Association for Computing Machinery (ou ACM) dans des articles scientifiques concernant les défis technologiques à relever pour visualiser les « grands ensembles de données », cette appellation est apparue en octobre 1997.

Big Data

BIAIS COGNITIF

Un biais cognitif est une distorsion dans le traitement cognitif d'une information. Le terme biaisfait référence à une déviation systématique de la pensée logique et rationnelle par rapport à la réalité. Les biais cognitifs conduisent le sujet à accorder des importances différentes à des faits de même nature et peuvent être repérés lorsque des paradoxes ou des erreurs apparaissent dans un raisonnement ou un jugement.

Wikipédia