THE PUNISHMENT

Installation

PHOTO%20ARTISTE%20FILIPE%20VILAS%20BOAS_

Biography

FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_shadow.JPG

FILIPE VILAS BOAS

Filipe Vilas-Boas is an artist born in Portugal in 1981. He lives and works in Paris. A conceptual artist playing with the porosity between the IRL and URL worlds, his creations combine recovery, detour and new media. Full of humor and spirit, his works make visible the transformations - both accesses and excesses - that technologies operate in society and human behavior. Without falling into the trap of naïve technophilia or pure technophobia, he questions us collectively about our digital practices and their ethical and aesthetic implications.

 

A self-taught artist, his practice began in 2008 with interventions in the public space. The same year, he began exhibiting at the FIT Freie Internationale Tankstelle in Berlin, among others. In 2014, he participates in Nuit Blanche Paris with an interactive celestial vault in the Saint-Eustache church.

In 2015, he presents his first solo exhibition at the Flaq Gallery in Paris and participates in the Musée Passager. His work has been highlighted in several editions of the book Portuguese Emerging Art and he now regularly exhibits in France and abroad. 

 

Recently, his installations, videos and performances have been presented in various artistic and digital settings including the International Conference on Artificial Intelligence at UNESCO, the French Language and Francophonie Week at the Ministry of Culture, CUBE, the Siana and Nemo Biennial at the CENTQUATRE in Paris, ADAF in Athens, Die Digitale Festival in Düsseldorf, Share Festival in Turin, Zaratan Gallery and MAAT Museum in Lisbon and more recently at the Tate Modern in London.

Artwork

FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment.gif
FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_I_must.gif

The Punishment (2017) is an installation in which a robot carries out a preventive punishment for its possible future disobedience. A reference to the laws of robotics by Isaac Asimov.

 

An anthropomorphisation of anticipation, the work humorously questions us about man-machine relations at the very moment when technologies combine and reactivate the myth of the creature that escapes its creator. By ironicizing on the fears that artificial intelligence engenders, this small mechanical theater seeks to better deconstruct them and question its place in our societies. To what extent do we wish to automate our lives? What physical, moral and legal framework should we give to this use? What school and beyond, what social contract to reinvent? At the beginning of this century, the questions related to automation are jostling. We are going to have to provide answers, if possible collectively.

FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_01.JPG
FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_writing.pn

LA PUNITION

Installation

PHOTO%20ARTISTE%20FILIPE%20VILAS%20BOAS_

Biographie

FILIPE VILAS BOAS

Filipe Vilas-Boas est un artiste né au Portugal en 1981. Il vit et travaille à Paris. Artiste conceptuel jouant de la porosité entre les mondes IRL et URL, ses créations combinent récupération, détournement et nouveaux médias. Pleines d'humour et d'esprit, ses œuvres rendent visible les transformations — à la fois les accès et les excès — que les technologies opèrent dans la société et les comportements humains. Sans tomber dans l’écueil d’une technophilie naïve ou d’une pure technophobie, il nous interroge collectivement sur nos pratiques numériques et leurs implications éthiques et esthétiques.

Artiste autodidacte, sa pratique a débuté en 2008 avec des interventions dans l'espace public. La même année, il commence à exposer entre autres à la FIT Freie Internationale Tankstelle à Berlin. En 2014, il participe à Nuit Blanche Paris avec une voûte céleste interactive au sein de l'église Saint-Eustache.

En 2015, il présente sa première exposition personnelle à la galerie Flaq à Paris et participe au Musée Passager. Son travail a été souligné au sein de plusieurs éditions du livre Portuguese Emerging Art. Il expose aujourd'hui régulièrement en France et à l'international. 

 

Dernièrement, ses installations, vidéos et performances ont été présentées dans divers cadres artistiques et numériques dont la Conférence Internationale sur l'Intelligence Artificielle à l'UNESCO, la Semaine de la langue française et de la Francophonie au Ministère de la Culture, au CUBE, à la Biennale Siana et Némo au CENTQUATRE à Paris, au ADAF à Athènes, au Die Digitale Festival à Düsseldorf, au Share Festival à Turin, à la galerie Zaratan et au MAAT Museum à Lisbonne et plus récemment au Tate Modern à Londres.

THE PUNISHMENT

FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment.gif
FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_I_must.gif

The Punishment (2017) est une installation dans laquelle un robot exécute une punition préventive au titre de son éventuelle désobéissance future. Une référence aux lois de la robotique d'Isaac Asimov.

Anthropomorphisation d’anticipation, l’œuvre nous interroge avec humour sur les relations homme-machine au moment même où les technologies se combinent et réactivent le mythe de la créature qui échappe à son créateur. En ironisant sur les peurs que l’intelligence artificielle engendre, ce petit théâtre machinique cherche à mieux les déconstruire et à questionner sa place dans nos sociétés. À quel point souhaitons-nous automatiser nos vies ? Quel cadre physique, moral et juridique donner à cet usage ? Quelle école et au-delà, quel contrat social réinventer ? En ce début de siècle, les questions liées à l’automatisation se bousculent. Il va nous falloir y apporter, si possible collectivement, nos réponses.

FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_01.JPG
FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_writing.pn