DEAR US

Podcast

Faye-15-540x540_edited.jpg
WRAP EQUI png.jpg

FAYE KABALI-KWAGA

Biography

Faye Kabali-Kagwa describes herself as an arts coordinator and culture writer with a growing interest in curation. She is an interdisciplinary practitioner with a strong focus on identity, migration, accessibility, and public engagement.

<br> In 2020 she began exploring WhatsApp as a medium for storytelling and debuted her first WhatsApp production, The Shopping Dead, at the virtual National Arts Festival 2020. In 2019 Faye was recognized as a Young Cultural Innovator by the Salzburg Global Seminar.

Artwork

An Online and WhatsApp driven exhibition


'#DearUs, Matric 2020' curated by Faye Kabali-Kagwa speaks to the lives of 6 South African teenagers living through a global pandemic at what should be the pinnacle of their schooling career. It centralises a moment shared by many, matriculation, while allowing the audience to identify and empathise with individual stories from the matric 2020 class using a platform that is familiar to many. 

These stories will be collaborative creations by the students and three visual and digital artists; Mmakhotso Lamola, Kamogelo Tselane, and Barry Christianson. These stories will then be shared through the online exhibition and on a WhatsApp status as an exhibition.  

What is unique about this exhibition is the use of WhatsApp which is the most widely used and downloaded app on the continent. Not only will we be utilising it as an exhibition space but also a site for activation and engagement with our core audience.  For more information on how to join the WhatsApp exhibition and on associated programming for this exhibition, visit the exhibition link.

#DearUs, Matric 2020', commissioned for the Fak'ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival #PowerToThePixel  and supported by Pro Helvetia Johannesburg, the South African Department of Sport, Arts and Culture, the National Arts Council and the Gauteng Film Commission.

 

The artists : 

Mmakhotso Lamola (SA) - 360 

Kamogelo Tselane (SA) - Animations

Barry Christianson (SA) - Photography

PODCAST RETURN
  • Spotify Icône sociale
Barry Christianson (SA)
dearus_final_bc_lores-3480
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3437
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3361
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3199
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3574
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3236
press to zoom
1/1
Kamogelo Tselane (SA)

DEAR US

Medium: podcast 

Faye-15-540x540_edited.jpg
WRAP EQUI png.jpg

FAYE KABALI-KWAGA

Biographie

Faye Kabali-Kagwa se décrit comme une coordinatrice artistique et une rédactrice culturelle qui s'intéresse de plus en plus à la conservation. Elle est une praticienne interdisciplinaire qui se concentre sur l'identité, la migration, l'accessibilité et l'engagement public.

<br> En 2020, elle a commencé à explorer WhatsApp comme moyen de raconter des histoires et a lancé sa première production WhatsApp, The Shopping Dead, lors du festival virtuel National Arts Festival 2020. En 2019, Faye a été reconnue comme jeune innovatrice culturelle par le Salzburg Global Seminar.

DEAR US

Une exposition en ligne et pilotée par WhatsApp 

L'exposition "#DearUs, Matric 2020", organisée par Faye Kabali-Kagwa, s'intéresse à la vie de six adolescents sud-africains qui vivent une pandémie mondiale à un moment où ils devraient être au sommet de leur carrière scolaire. Il centralise un moment partagé par beaucoup, l'inscription, tout en permettant au public d'identifier et de s'identifier aux histoires individuelles de la classe de Matric 2020 en utilisant une plateforme qui est familière à beaucoup.

 

Ces histoires seront des créations collectives des élèves et de trois artistes visuels et numériques : Mmakhotso Lamola, Kamogelo Tselane et Barry Christianson. Ces histoires seront ensuite partagées par le biais de l'exposition en ligne et sur un statut WhatsApp en tant qu'exposition.  

 

Ce qui est unique dans cette exposition, c'est est l'utilisation de WhatsApp dans le processus de création puisqu'elle est l'application la plus utilisée et la plus téléchargée sur le continent. Elle a non seulement été utilisée comme un espace d'exposition, mais aussi comme un site d'activation et d'engagement avec le public principal.  

#DearUs, Matric 2020', commandé pour le Festival africain de l'innovation numérique de Fak'ugesi #PowerToThePixel et soutenu par Pro Helvetia Johannesburg, le ministère sud-africain des sports, des arts et de la culture, le Conseil national des arts et la Commission du film de Gauteng. 

 

Les artistes : 

Mmakhotso Lamola (SA) - 360 mondes

Kamogelo Tselane (SA) - Animations

Barry Christianson (SA) - Photographie

RESTITUTION PODCAST
  • Spotify Icône sociale
Barry Christianson (SA) 
dearus_final_bc_lores-3480
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3437
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3361
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3199
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3574
press to zoom
dearus_final_bc_lores-3236
press to zoom
1/1
Kamogelo Tselane (SA)
Mmakhotso Lamola (SA)