EXHIBITION

Afropixel is issuing an invitation from Senegal to anyone interested in taking part in an informed and open exchange on the relationship between art and technology. At a time when the common good and individual liberties are increasingly under threat across the world, it seems important to us, in Africa, to rethink our ways of life and set some ethical criteria for the development of the technologies (especially artificial intelligence) that are transforming our societies. 

  

For artists, new technologies are extraordinary tools: they can inspire novel ways of creating and provide the means for experimenting with new modes of expression and communication. The volume of digital data has increased dramatically over the past decade. Artificial intelligence, predicated on the statistical analysis of data widely distributed across networks, permits the generation of new forms of artistic creation, whether musical, visual, or textual. Many artists in the African continent, however, have not yet had the opportunity to become familiar with these technologies.  

  

For this reason, and with the help of our correspondents, we thought that it would be important to hear from artists who raise questions about the representations of gender, race, or class in artificial intelligence programmes, challenge the capacity of such software for automatic learning, or use artificial intelligence to make links, test new formats, and/or generate singular narratives. To what extent can these artists’ work help us to reflect on the potential contemporary repercussions of the unrestrained development of these technologies?

Delphine Buysse & Marion Louisgrand Sylla

Co-curators

3_JoySerenaReflected.jpg

CODED BIAS

 

JOY BUOLAMWINI

CODED_Instagram_Post_1080px.jpg

CODED BIAS

 

SHALINI KANTAYYA

ALGORITHMLIC BIAS
DISCRIMINATION
image marta revuelta.jpg

AI FACIAL PROFILING

 

MARTA REVUELTA

01.JPG
FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_writing4.p

THE PUNISHMENT

 

FILIPE VILAS BOAS

ETHICAL AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES

 

MATTHIEU CHERUBINI

thevoiceisvoices1.jpg
BLACK BOX
ETHICS
PickledPunks4.png
ANTHROPOIDS

THE VOICE IS VOICES

 

MELIA ROGER

DEEP FAKE

PICKLED PUNKS

 

UGO DEHAES

IDENTITY
Capture d’écran 2020-05-06 à 12.17.20.pn
WRAP EQUI png.jpg

DEAR US

 

FAYE KABALI-KWAGA

Capture d’écran 2021-02-22 à 10.55.49.pn

SATURN'S MELAS

 

JOSEFA NTJAM

MISAVA

 

NKHENSANIE MKHARI

Capture d’écran 2021-02-26 à 08.46.16.pn
NARRATIVES
IMAGINARY

SPATIAL FABRICATIONS:

AN UNINHABITABLE WORLD

 

PRE-EMPT COLLECTIVE

EXPOSITION

Afropixel lance une invitation depuis le Sénégal à participer à un échange informé et ouvert avec l'art et les technologies. Dans une période où les communs et les libertés individuelles sont de plus en plus menacées, partout dans le monde, il nous semblait important de repenser nos modes de vies, depuis l’Afrique,en posant quelques repères éthiques au développement des technologies et en particulier, de l’intelligence artificielle, alors qu’elle transforme déjà nos sociétés.

Les nouvelles technologies sont des outils extraordinaires qui inspirent aux artistes de nouvelles façons de créer et leur offrent des moyens d'expérimenter de nouveaux modes d’expression et de transmission. La masse de données numériques a considérablement augmenté au cours de la décennie écoulée. L’intelligence artificielle, qui tire parti de l’analyse statistique de données largement distribuées sur les réseaux, permet dans le domaine artistique de générer des formes de création inédites, qu’elles soient musicales, picturales ou encore écrites. Or, beaucoup d’artistes du continent n'ont pas encore eu l’opportunité de se familiariser avec ces technologies. 

C'est pourquoi, il nous semblé opportun, avec l’appui de nos correspondant-e-s, d’écouter des artistes qui posent la question des représentations de genre, de race ou de classe que véhiculent certains programmes d’intelligence artificielle, qui mettent au défi la capacité d’apprentissage automatique de tels logiciels ou qui les utilisent aussi pour créer du lien, pour tester des formats inédits ou pour générer des récits singuliers. Dans quelle mesure leurs œuvres peuvent nous aider à réfléchir aux possibles dérives contemporaines du développement effréné de ces technologies. 

Delphine Buysse & Marion Louisgrand Sylla

Co-commissaires

3_JoySerenaReflected.jpg

CODED BIAS

 

JOY BUOLAMWINI

CODED_Instagram_Post_1080px.jpg

CODED BIAS

 

SHALINI KANTAYYA

BIAIS ALGORITHMLIQUES
DISCRIMINATION
image marta revuelta.jpg

AI FACIAL PROFILING

MARTA REVUELTA

01.JPG
FilipeVilasBoas_ThePunishment_writing4.p

THE PUNISHMENT

 

FILIPE VILAS BOAS

ETHICAL AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES

 

MATTHIEU CHERUBINI

thevoiceisvoices1.jpg
BLACK BOX
ETHIQUE
PickledPunks4.png
ANTHROPOÏDES

THE VOICE IS VOICES

 

MELIA ROGER

DEEP FAKE

PIKCLED PUNKS

UGO DEHAES

IDENTITE
Capture d’écran 2020-05-06 à 12.17.20.pn
WRAP EQUI png.jpg

DEAR US

 

FAYE KABALI-KWAGA

Capture d’écran 2021-02-22 à 10.55.49.pn

MÉLAS DE SATURNE

 

JOSÉFA NTJAM

MISAVA

 

NKHENSANI MKHARI

Capture d’écran 2021-02-26 à 08.46.16.pn
NARRATION
IMAGINAIRES

SPATIAL FABRICATIONS:

AN UNINHABITABLE WORLD

 

PRE EMPT COLLECTIVE