TSIMOLOGONG 

MAKERSPACE /

GALSEN AI

Location: ZOOM & Ker Thiossane

Dates: 7 & 8th April- 10:00 am GMT

d1e47c37fa_119289_ia-intelligence-artifi

WORKSHOP AI & ART

Artifical Intelligence

& artistic creation

A workshop led by two development engineers from the Thsimologong Maker Space in collaboration with one of the founding members of the Galsen AI collective and Kër Thiossane's fablab Defko Ak Niep, to introduce fifteen artists from Dakar (from Lumbumbumbashi) and Johannesburg to the basics of Artificial Intelligence in the different fields of creation (visual; sound; performative) through theoretical and technical explanations and small practical exercises. Accompanied by computer scientists, developers of fablabs, the artists will have at the end of this workshop a better understanding of the potential offered to them by Artificial Intelligence in terms of creativity. One of the objectives of this workshop is to give the artists the opportunity to explore and experiment with these innovative technologies.

 

Workshop for artists

Compulsory registration

Programm

Day 1: After an introduction to AI terminology and its potential, the workshop will focus on 2 major aspects of this field: data and deep learning. 


Day 2: This second session will focus on the machine learning and its architecture, as well as on GANs or generative antagonistic networks, techniques derived from the machine learning. 


Each section of the workshop will propose both demos, videos/audio, and exercises, advancing step by step on the different techniques of artificial intelligence and providing participants with tools they can use during and after the workshop.

Tsimologong Makerspace
 
In 2013 Prof. Barry Dwolatsky, the director of Wits University’s JCSE (Johannesburg Centre of Software Engineering), first mooted the idea of a digital innovation hub in Braamfontein. In the very heart of Johannesburg.

The idea grew into a zone that links hardware, software and digital content innovation with commercial success. A Precinct where technology businesses and digital products are nurtured and ideas become viable businesses. 

Local and national government, as well as relevant private sector players, partnered with the University to create, in the words of Vice-Chancellor Adam Habib, an “interlocutor to change our world”.

The Tshimologong Precinct officially opened on the 1st of September 2016 and, since then, the vision has fast turned into reality.

GalsenAI

GalsenAI is a community initiated by young Senegalese passionate about data sciences and IoT. Its aim is to set up a platform for intellectual exchange, popularisation and learning on any subject revolving around AI (Artificial Intelligence), Big Data or IoT (Internet of Things or Internet of Things in French): to create a coworking space open to anyone with a passion for data sciences.

Biographies

Hloniphani_pic (1).jpg

HLONIPHANIA DUBE

BSC PHYSICS

and ND APPLIED CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY

Hloniphani has been working in AI  and Data Science since 2017. Prior to that he worked on upcoonversion nanophoshors with applications on cooling quantum computing  machines. Before then, he worked in academic research in cardiovascular diseases, analytical environmental chemistry and pharmacology. Prior to that he worked in iron and steel manufacturing. He’s interests are application of machine learning to healthcare, finance, resource allocation and football.

gael_musoya (1).jpeg

GAEL 

MUSOYA

(BEng Aeronautical Engineering)

Gael has been building AI solutions for the past 4 years. One of his flagship projects  is a voice activated smart cane solution for blind which uses a combination of AI technologies such as object detection and classification, facial recognition and natural language processing. Gael also teaches software engineering, mobile app programming and machine learning in-person and remotely. He has been a tutor at the University of the Witwatersrand since 2012. He is the Lead AI and Software Architect for all machine learning and software development projects undertaken at Bluemachines. At the moment, one of his research projects is training dones to fly autonomusly  using machine learning.He’s involved in futuristic design and simulations (CFD). Gael was part of Wits Solar Car from December 2014 to March 2014.

elias ba.jpg

ELIAS

BA 

DATA SCIENTIST & 

ENTRERENEUR

Artificial intelligence consultant, social entrepreneur and teacher. Graduated with a bachelor's degree in Mathematics and Computer Science at the Assane Seck University in Ziguinchor and a master's degree in Business Intelligence at the Cheikh Anta DIOP University in Dakar, Elias Ba grew up and did all my schooling in Senegal. Currently head of the Data & Intelligence department of the airline Air Senegal SA and professor of Artificial Intelligence at Coursera. He also lectures in Senegalese universities. Passionate about this field, he is the founder and president of the GalsenAI association, a community of more than 2000 members composed of researchers, students, entrepreneurs and professionals working in the field of artificial intelligence in Senegal and abroad. It has just launched its startup, Neograph, which offers services in the field of artificial intelligence and data.

TSIMOLOGONG

MAKERSPACE / GALSEN AI

Lieu: ZOOM & Ker Thiossane

Date: 7 & 8 Avril - 10 h GMT

ATELIER IA & ART

Intelligence Artificielle

et création artistique

Un atelier animé par deux ingénieurs de développement du Thsimologong Maker Space en collaboration avec l'un des membres fondateurs du collectif Galsen AI et du fablab Defko Ak Niep de Kër Thiossane, pour initier une quinzaine d'artistes de Dakar (de Lumbumbashi) et de Johannesburg aux bases de l'Intelligence Artificielle dans les différents domaines de la création (visuelle ; sonore ; performative) à travers des explications théoriques et techniques et de petits exercices pratiques. Accompagnés d'informaticiens, de développeurs de fablabs, les artistes auront à l'issue de cet atelier une meilleure compréhension du potentiel que leur offre l'Intelligence Artificielle en matière de créativité. L'un des objectifs de cet atelier est de donner aux artistes l'opportunité d'explorer et d'expérimenter ces technologies innovantes.

Workshop for artists

Compulsory registration

Programme

 

Jour 1 : Après une introduction à la terminologie de l’IA et de son potentiel, l’atelier se concentrera sur 2 aspects majeurs de ce domaine : la data et le deep learning.

Jour 2 : Cette seconde session axera la recherche autour du machine learning et de son architecture, ainsi que sur les GAN ou réseaux antagoniste génératifs, techniques issues du machine learning.

 

Chaque section de l'atelier proposera à la fois des démos, vidéos/audio, et exercices, en avançant pas à pas sur les différentes techniques de l’intelligence artificielle et fournira aux participants des outils qu’ils pourront utiliser pendant et après l'atelier.

Tsimologong makerspace

En 2013, le professeur Barry Dwolatsky, directeur du JCSE (Johannesburg Centre of Software Engineering) de l'université Wits, a lancé l'idée d'un centre d'innovation numérique à Braamfontein. Au cœur même de Johannesburg.

 

L'idée s'est transformée en une zone qui associe l'innovation en matière de matériel, de logiciels et de contenu numérique à un succès commercial. Une zone où les entreprises technologiques et les produits numériques sont nourris et où les idées deviennent des entreprises viables.

 

Les autorités locales et nationales, ainsi que les acteurs concernés du secteur privé, se sont associés à l'université pour créer, selon les termes du vice-chancelier Adam Habib, un "interlocuteur pour changer notre monde".

 

La cité de Tshimologong a été officiellement inaugurée le 1er septembre 2016 et, depuis lors, la vision est rapidement devenue réalité.

GalsenAI

GalsenAI est une communauté initiée par de jeunes sénégalais passionnés de data sciences et d’IoT. Elle a pour but de mettre en place une plateforme d’échanges intellectuels, de vulgarisation et d’apprentissage sur tout sujet tournant autour de l’IA (Intelligence artificielle), du Big Data ou encore de l’IoT (Internet of Things ou Internet des objets en Français) : créer un espace de coworking ouvert à toute personne passionnée par les data sciences.

Retrouvez ici les ressources et les liens relatifs aux questions abordées pendant les ateliers

Biographies

HLONIPHANIA DUBE

PHYSIQUE 

& TECHNOLOGIE CHIMIQUE APPLIQUEE 

Hloniphani travaille dans le domaine de l'IA et de la Data Science depuis 2017. Avant cela, il a travaillé sur des nanophores à conversion ascendante avec des applications sur le refroidissement des machines d'informatique quantique ainsi que dans la recherche universitaire sur les maladies cardiovasculaires, la chimie analytique environnementale et la pharmacologie. Il a également travaillé dans la fabrication du fer et de l'acier. Il s'intéresse aux applications du machine learning aux soins de santé, à la finance, à l'allocation des ressources et au football.

GAEL 

MUSOYA

INGÉNIEUR EN

AÉRONOTIQUE

Gael construit des solutions d'IA depuis 4 ans. L'un de ses projets phares est une solution de canne intelligente activée par la voix pour les aveugles qui utilise une combinaison de technologies d'IA telles que la détection et la classification d'objets, la reconnaissance faciale et le traitement du langage naturel. Gael enseigne également le génie logiciel, la programmation d'applications mobiles et l'apprentissage automatique en personne et à distance. Il est tuteur à l'Université du Witwatersrand depuis 2012. Il est Lead AI et Software Architect pour tous les projets machine learning et de développement logiciel entrepris à Bluemachines.  Actuellement, l'un de ses projets de recherche est la formation des pilotes à l'autonomie par l'apprentissage machine, et il est impliqué dans la conception et les simulations futuristes (CFD). 

ELIAS 

BA

 

DATA SCIENTIST & ENTREPRENEUR

Consultant en intelligence artificielle, social entrepreneur et enseignant. Diplomé d'une licence en mathématique et informatique à l'université Assane Seck de Ziguinchor et d'un master en Business Intelligence à l'université Cheikh Anta DIOP de Dakar, Elias Ba a grandi et fait tout son cursus scolaire au Sénégal. Actuellement responsable du service Données & Intelligence de la compagnie aérienne Air Sénégal SA et professeur d'intelligence artificielle sur Coursera. Il intervient aussi dans des universités Sénégalaises. Passionné par ce domaine il est le le fondateur et président de l'association GalsenAI, une communauté de plus de 2000 membres composée de chercheurs, d'étudiants, d'entrepreneurs et de professionnels évoluant dans le domaine de l'intelligence artificielle au Sénégal et à l'étranger. Il vient de lancer sa startup, Neograph, qui offre des services dans le domaine de l'intelligence artificielle et de la data.