WORKSHOP 1

ANTROPOIDS

Ugo Dehaes

Session 1: programmation

Session 2: customisation

IMG_0993.jpeg

Robotics and coding

Based on an original idea by the artist Ugo Dehaes, with the collaboration of the artist Doulsy and the Fablabs Defko ak Niep

 

In this workshop the Belgian choreographer Ugo Dehaes will guide the participants to make their own little robot, based on the model of the robots he built for his show Forced Labor.

 

With the help of the FabLab Defko Ak Niep team, the teenagers will learn how to weld and prepare an Arduino microprocessor to understand the basics of Arduino programming and the operation of servo motors by measuring distances using a sensor.

 

The artist Doulsy will collaborate with Ugo Dehaes for the robot customisation session, where participants will learn how to assemble and dress the robot with recycled materials using elements previously printed in 3D in the FabLab.

 

Workshop for teenagers - upon registration 

Session 1: assembly (2h) - session 2: customisation (1h30)

IMG_0992
press to zoom
IMG_1012
press to zoom
7265656a-436e-472d-878f-555e291e71cf
press to zoom
1/1

Artwork

portret%20ugo%20dehaes%202020%20small_ed

UGO

DEHAES

In 2018 he starts the search for dance without human bodies, and now works as a choreographer of things: He builds robotic sculptures for Tweetakt Festival (NL), Zomertank (Leuven, BE) and Le Pavillon (Namur, BE). For the stage he creates the performance/reading Forced Labora with small organic robots and the performance/installation Forced Labor: Arena where the audience helps to train an Artificial Intelligence.

In 2021 he starts a collaboration with the University of Brussels (creativity through computer science) and Axiles Bionics (robotic prosthesis).

 

Since 2015 Ugo is a member of the Young Academy of Flanders, a meeting of young scientists and artists.

 

In the meantime Ugo has guided numerous workshops and workshops and has worked for other artists such as Stijn Grupping (Post Uit Hesdalen), Ehsan Hemat, Samah Hijawi, Stéphane Arcas, Sachiyo Takahashi, Emil Hrvatin, Arco Renz, Gisèle Vienne & Etienne Bideau-Rey, Katalin Patkaï, Nada Gambier, Antonin De Bemels, Heine R. Avdal,...

 

Ugo Dehaes (1977, Belgium) started dancing at the age of 18. He did his professional training at P.A.R.T.S, the school of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas. In 1998 he joined Meg Stuart's company Damaged Goods, with whom he toured the world for 3 years, and in 2000 he founded his own company, kwaad bloed, and constantly creates new choreographies for various dancers (professional, amateur, adults of all ages and children). 

 

In a first phase he is fascinated by the visual and mechanical side of the human body. 

 

The second phase of his work consists of very physical pieces where he combines the virtuosity of the dancers with their personality. The third phase revolves around the link between art and science. In these pieces Ugo translates scientific concepts into movement.

ARTIST

Doulsy_edited.jpg

DOULSY

DOULSY (Abdoul Sy) is a Senegalese artist and fashion designer. Born in Dakar in 1976, he developed a passion for working with materials and crafts at a very young age. At the age of 7, he designed and created his first models and accessories.

 

Free and rebellious, Doulsy left school at the age of 12 to learn how to make clothes. He starts working in different workshops and very quickly draws attention to his precision work with materials that are complex to handle. He gives shape to all textures, mixes different styles and creates classical, ethnic, urban, futuristic, sometimes even very eccentric and offbeat models.

 

In 2010, he is presenting his collection made entirely from recycled materials in the "SIRA VISION" young designer competition on the subject of the global crisis. As a self-taught candidate, he succeeded in convincing the jury to award him the prize. Doulsy then created JAHGAL, a brand in his own image inspired by the expression "baye Jahgal", which means "the handyman", the one who restores usefulness to the worn out, the obsolete.

 

It is the beginning of a series of creations and artistic collaborations; he makes stage costumes, sets, clothes and accessories of all kinds. He then collaborates with the photographer Fabrice Monteiro and the NGO Ecofund and represents the ecological plagues of Senegal through costumes and installations of women-spirits carrying a prophetic message of the surrounding ecological chaos. Doulsy now wants each of her creations to be an invitation to reflection and a motor for change.

ARTIST

ATELIER

ANTHROPOÏDES

UGO DEHAES

Session 1: programmation 27/3 15h GMT

Session 2: customisation 3/4 15h GMT

IMG_0993.jpeg

Robotique et programmation

Sur une idée originale de l'artiste Ugo Dehaes, avec la collaboration de l'artiste Doulsy et le Fablabs Defko ak Niep

Dans cet atelier le chorégraphe belge Ugo Dehaes va guider les participants à fabriquer leur propre petit robot, sur le modèle des robots qu’il a construit pour son spectacle Forced Labor.

Avec l’aide de l’équipe du FabLab Defko Ak Niep, les adolescents vont apprendre  à souder et préparer un microprocesseur Arduino pour comprendre les bases de la programmation Arduino et le fonctionnement des moteurs servo en mesurant les distances à l'aide d'un capteur.

L'artiste Doulsy collaborera avec Ugo Dehaes pour la session de customisation des robots.Au moyen d'éléments préalablement imprimés en 3D dans le FabLab, les participants vont apprendre à monter et habiller le robot avec des matériaux de récupération.

Atelier destiné aux adolescents - sur inscription 

Session 1: assemblage (3h)- session 2: customisation (3h)

IMG_0992
press to zoom
IMG_1012
press to zoom
7265656a-436e-472d-878f-555e291e71cf
press to zoom
1/1

Biographies

portret%20ugo%20dehaes%202020%20small_ed

UHO

DEHAES

En 2018 il entame la recherche de la danse sans corps humains, et travaille désormais comme chorégraphe des choses: Il construit des sculptures robotiques pour Tweetakt Festival (NL), Zomertank (Louvain, BE) et Le Pavillon (Namur, BE). Pour la scene il crée le spectacle/lecture Forced Laboravec des petits robots organiques et le spectacle/installation Forced Labor: Arena ou le publique aide à entrainer une Intelligence Artificiel.

En 2021 il commence une collaboration avec l'Université de Bruxelles (créativité par l'informatique) et Axiles Bionics (prothèses robotiques).

 

Depuis 2015 Ugo est membre de la Jeune Academie de la Flandre, une réunion de jeunes scientifiques et artistes prominents.

 

Entretemps Ugo a guidé de nombreuxworkshops et ateliers et il a travaillé pour d'autres artistes comme Stijn Grupping (Post Uit Hesdalen), Ehsan Hemat, Samah Hijawi, Stéphane Arcas, Sachiyo Takahashi, Emil Hrvatin, Arco Renz, Gisèle Vienne & Etienne Bideau-Rey, Katalin Patkaï, Nada Gambier, Antonin De Bemels, Heine R. Avdal,...

Ugo Dehaes (1977, Belgique) commence la danse à l'age de 18 ans. Il fait sa formation professionnelle à P.A.R.T.S, l'école de Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas. En 1998, il rejoint la compagnie Damaged Goods de Meg Stuart, avec qui il parcours le monde entier pendant 3 années.En 2000, il fonde sa propre compagnie, kwaad bloed(mauvais sang) et crée constamment de nouvelles chorégraphies pour des danseurs variés (professionnel, amateurs, adultes de toute age et enfants). 

Dans une premiere phaseil est fasciné par le côté visuel et mechanic du corps humain. 

La deuxième phase de son oeuvre consiste de pièces très physiques ou il combine la virtuosité des danseurs avec leur personnalité. La troisième phase tourne autour le lien entre l'art et la science. Dans ces pièces-ci Ugo traduit des conceptes scientifiques en mouvements.

ARTISTE

Doulsy_edited.jpg

DOULSY

DOULSY (Abdoul Sy) est un artiste styliste et créateur de mode sénégalais. Né à Dakar en 1976, il se passionne très jeune pour le travail des matières et l'artisanat. A 7 ans, il dessine et crée ses premiers modèles et accessoires.

 

Libre et rebelle, Doulsy quitte l’école à 12 ans pour apprendre la confection de vêtements. Il débute dans différents ateliers et attire très vite l’attention sur son travail de précision avec des matériaux complexes à manipuler. Il donne forme à toutes les textures, mélange différents styles et crée des modèles classiques, ethniques, urbains, futuristes, parfois même très excentriques et décalés.

 

Il présente en 2010 sa collection entièrement constituée de matériaux récupérés au concours de jeune créateur « SIRA VISION » sur le thème de la crise mondiale. Candidat autodidacte, il réussi à convaincre le jury qui le sacre lauréat. Doulsy crée ensuite JAHGAL, une marque à son image inspirée de l’expression « baye Jahgal » qui signifie le bricoleur, celui qui redonne une utilité à l’usé, à l’obsolète.

 

C’est le début d’une série de créations et collaborations artistiques; il confectionne costumes de scène, décors, vêtements et accessoires en tout genre. Il collabore ensuite avec le photographe Fabrice Monteiro et l’ONG Ecofund et représente les fléaux écologiques du Sénégal à travers des costumes et installations de femmes-esprits porteuses d’un message prophétique du chaos écologique environnant. Doulsy souhaite désormais que chacune de ses créations soit une invitation à la réflexion et un moteur de changement.

ARTISTE