ART AND  

ARTIFICIAL
INTELLIGENCE

MODERATION

Delphine Buysse

IMGL0545.jpg

Wednesday 31st March- 3:00pm GMT

ZOOM on registration

Description

Speakers: Marie Du Chastel, Tegan Bristow, Sabine Himmelsbach

 

What is the place of IA in artistic creation? Subject or tool, denounced or glorified, art uses multiple levers to dissect the uses, drifts and fantasies associated with technologies including artificial intelligence. What is the potential and the different possible applications of artificial intelligence in the different fields of artistic creation? How do artists use it in their creations? What are the threats and challenges to the development of artificial intelligence in Africa? What are the challenges induced for artists using this new media in artistic creation in Africa? What are the potential powers of these technological hijackings in the world and particularly in Africa?

OPen SOurce

Capture d’écran 2021-03-31 à 18.12.10.pn

Présentation de Marie Du Chastel

Capture d’écran 2021-03-31 à 18.18.55.pn

Présentation de Sabine Himmelsbach

Capture d’écran 2021-03-31 à 18.17.07.pn

Présentation de Tegan Bristow

Liens partagés pendant l'Agora sur les centres de recherches, formations, data center en Afrique

 

Masakhane project(SA)

ECAL Lausanne (CH)

Deep Learning Indaba (SA)

African Master in Artificial Intelligence (GH-RW)

Dakar institute of technology (SN)

Center for Artificial Intelligence (SA)

MODERATOR

WhatsApp%20Image%202020-09-01%20at%2011.

Delphine Buysse is an independent curator of Belgian origin who has lived in Africa for almost 15 years and based in Dakar since 2018. Her studies in History and Communication-Journalism led her to direct her passion for art more specifically on the mediation of contemporary art (reluctances to contemporary art). She then turned to curating and has continued to feed her practice with trainings, researches and collective reflections on curatorial practices. It strives to promote the appreciation of contemporary art through exhibitions that initiate dialogue with communities by questioning the role of art in society, the links between art and societies, through urban space and technologies.

 

She graduated in communication of museums and contemporary art and obtained, in 2019, an MBA in art market and cultural management, is currently studying philosophy and undertaking a thesis in sociology of art on the circuit of contemporary visual artwork in Dakar.

SPEAKERS

Since 2012, Sabine Himmelsbach has been director of the HeK (House of Electronic Arts Basel ).

 

After studying art history in Munich, she worked for galleries in Munich and Vienna from 1993 to 1996, then became project manager for exhibitions and lectures for the Steirischer Herbst festival in Graz, in Austria.

 

In 1999 she became exhibition director at ZKM | Center for Art and Media in Karlsruhe . From 2005 to 2011, she was artistic director of the Edith-Russ-House for Media Art in Oldenburg, Germany. In 2011, she curated the "Gateways" exhibition. Networked Art and Culture "for the Kumu Art Museum in Tallinn as part of the European Capital of Culture Tallinn 2011 program.

 

His exhibitions at HeK Basel include "Ryoji Ikeda" (2014), "Poetics and Politics of Data" (2015), "Rafael Lozano-Hemmer: Preabsence" (2016), "unREAL" (2017), "Lynn Hershman Leeson: Anti-Corps "," Eco-Visionaries "(2018), " Tangled Realities. Living with Artificial Intelligence "(2019) ," Making FASHION Sense "(2020) and " Real Feelings. Emotion and Technology "(2020) .

 

As a writer and lecturer, she devotes herself to subjects related to media art and digital culture.

DELPHINE
BUYSSE


Curator

BE-SN

marie_plan_large_HD_flipped_edited.jpg

MARIE

DU CHASTEL

KIKK Festival

BE

Tegan_Bristow-13-540x540.jpg

TEGAN

BRISTOW

Fak'Ugesi Festival

SA

SHimmelsbach_portrait-detail-Foto-Christ

SABINE

HIMMELSBACH

HeK

 

CH

Tegan Bristow is a South African artist who develops interactive digital installations; She is a lecturer at the School of the Arts at the University of the Witwatersrand and director of the African Festival of Digital Innovation of Fak'ugesi since 2016.

In 2017, Tegan Bristow completed a PhD on Decolonization and Methodologies of Action in the Artistic and Cultural Practices of African Technological Cultures, which she wrote with the Planetary Collegium of the Center for Interdisciplinary Arts at the University of Plymouth in United Kingdom.

Apart from her curatorial practice within the Fak'ugesi Festival, Tegan has participated in major curatorial projects including Digital Imaginaries 2018: Premonition with Afro Pixel (Senegal), Wits Art Museum and the ZKM (Germany) and the 2015 Post African Futures exhibition. with the Goodman Gallery in Johannesburg.

Besides her curatorial activities and related to art, cultures and technologies in Africa, Tegan also exhibited her own artistic practice. She has published her research in various journal and book chapters, and more recently in Critical African Studies.

Marie du Chastel is an exhibition curator, expert in digital art and new media. She is in charge of the programming of the activities of the association KIKK which explores the links between art, science, technology and society through the organization of events as well as the development of educational and artistic programs.

She is the curator of the KIKK festival , the international festival of digital and creative cultures which brings together more than 35,000 people each year in Namur, Belgium, since 2011.

 

Marie is also the exhibition curator of the Pavillon , the new permanent exhibition space of the non-profit organization which brings together artistic works, scientific research projects and prototypes from the entrepreneurial world.

She is also in charge of the KIKK artistic production and dissemination platform, which produces artists, organizes residencies and broadcasts their productions around the world.

Finally, she participates in the many other projects of the organization; including the creative hub and Fab Lab of Namur TRAKK .

Marie has been a member of the Digital Arts Commission of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation since 2014.

ARTS & INTELLIGENCES ARTIFICIELLES

MODERATION

Delphine Buysse

Mercredi 31 Mars - 15 heures GMT

ZOOM sur inscription

Description

Intervenants: Marie Du Chastel, Tegan Bristow, Sabine Himmelsbach

 

Cet agora propose une discussion croisée entre commissaires invitées et artistes du continent africain et de la diaspora sur la place de l'AI dans la création artistique.

Sujet ou outil, dénoncé ou glorifié, l'art utilise de multiples leviers pour disséquer les usages, les dérives et les fantasmes associés aux technologies dont l'intelligence artificielle. Quel est le potentiel et les différentes applications possibles de l'intelligence artificielle dans les différents domaines de la création artistique. Comment les artistes l'utilisent-ils dans leurs créations ? Quels sont les menaces et les enjeux du développement de l'intelligence artificielle en Afrique ? Quels sont les défis induits pour les artistes utilisant ce nouveau média dans la création artistique en Afrique ? Quels sont les pouvoirs potentiels de ces détournements technologiques dans le monde et particulièrement en Afrique ?

OPen SOurce

Capture d’écran 2021-03-31 à 18.12.10.pn

Présentation de Marie Du Chastel

Capture d’écran 2021-03-31 à 18.18.55.pn

Présentation de Sabine Himmelsbach

Capture d’écran 2021-03-31 à 18.17.07.pn

Présentation de Tegan Bristow

Liens partagés pendant l'Agora sur les centres de recherches, formations, data center en Afrique

 

Masakhane project(SA)

ECAL Lausanne (CH)

Deep Learning Indaba (SA)

African Master in Artificial Intelligence (GH-RW)

Dakar institute of technology (SN)

Center for Artificial Intelligence (SA)

MODÉRATRICE

WhatsApp%20Image%202020-09-01%20at%2011.

Delphine Buysse est une commissaire d’exposition indépendante d'origine belge qui vit en Afrique depuis presque 15 ans et basée à Dakar depuis 2018. Ses études en Histoire et en Communication-Journalisme l’ont amenée à orienter sa passion pour l’art plus spécifiquement sur la médiation  de l’art contemporain (réticences à l'art contemporain). Elle s'est ensuite orientée vers le commissariat d'exposition et n'a cessé d'alimenter sa pratique par des formations, des recherches et des réflexions collectives sur les pratiques curatoriales. Elle s'efforce de promouvoir l'appréciation de l'art contemporain à travers des expositions qui initient le dialogue avec les communautés en questionnant le rôle de l’art dans la société, les liens entre art et sociétés, à travers l'espace urbain et les technologies. 

 

Elle est diplômée en communication des musées et de l'art contemporain et obtient, en 2019, un MBA en marché de l'art et management culturel, poursuit actuellement des études de philosophie et entreprend une thèse en sociologie de l'art sur le circuit de l'oeuvre d'art contemporain visuel à Dakar.

INTERVENANTES

Depuis 2012, Sabine Himmelsbach est directrice de la HeK (House of Electronic Arts Basel).

 

Après avoir étudié l'histoire de l'art à Munich, elle a travaillé pour des galeries à Munich et à Vienne de 1993 à 1996, puis est devenue chef de projet pour des expositions et des conférences pour le festival Steirischer Herbst à Graz, en Autriche.

 

En 1999, elle est devenue directrice d'exposition au ZKM | Center for Art and Media à Karlsruhe. De 2005 à 2011, elle a été directrice artistique de la Edith-Russ-House for Media Art à Oldenburg, en Allemagne. En 2011, elle a été commissaire de l'exposition "Gateways". Art et culture en réseau" pour le Musée d'art Kumu à Tallinn dans le cadre du programme de la Capitale européenne de la culture Tallinn 2011.

 

Ses expositions au HeK de Bâle comprennent "Ryoji Ikeda" (2014), "Poetics and Politics of Data" (2015), "Rafael Lozano-Hemmer : Preabsence" (2016), "unREAL" (2017), "Lynn Hershman Leeson : Anti-Corps", "Eco-Visionnaires" (2018), "Réalités enchevêtrées. Living with Artificial Intelligence" (2019), "Making FASHION Sense" (2020) et "Real Feelings. Emotion et technologie" (2020).

 

En tant qu'écrivain et conférencière, elle se consacre à des sujets liés à l'art médiatique et à la culture numérique.

DELPHINE

BUYSSE


Commissaire d'exposition

BE-SN

marie_plan_large_HD_flipped_edited.jpg

MARIE

DU CHASTEL

KIKK Festival

BE

Tegan_Bristow-13-540x540_edited.jpg

TEGAN

BRISTOW

Fak'Ugesi Festival

SA

SHimmelsbach_portrait-detail-Foto-Christ

SABINE

HIMMELSBACH

HeK

 

CH

Tegan Bristow est une artiste sud-africaine qui développe des installations numériques interactives ; elle est maître de conférences à l'École des arts de l'Université du Witwatersrand et directrice du Festival africain de l'innovation numérique de Fak'ugesi depuis 2016. 

 

En 2017, Tegan Bristow a achevé un doctorat sur la décolonisation et les méthodologies d'action dans les pratiques artistiques et culturelles des cultures technologiques africaines, qu'elle a rédigé avec le Planetary Collegium du Centre for Interdisciplinary Arts de l'Université de Plymouth au Royaume-Uni.

 

En dehors de sa pratique curatoriale au sein du Fak'ugesi Festival, Tegan a participé à de grands projets curatoriaux incluant Digital Imaginaries 2018 : Prémonition avec Afro Pixel (Sénégal), Wits Art Museum et le ZKM (Allemagne) et exposition 2015 Post African Futures avec la Goodman Gallery à Johannesburg.

 

A côté de ses activités curatoriales et en rapport avec l'art, les cultures et les technologies en Afrique, Tegan a également exposé sa propre pratique artistique. Elle a publié ses recherches dans divers chapitres de revues et de livres, et plus récemment dans Critical African Studies. 

Marie du Chastel est commissaire d’exposition, experte en art numérique et nouveaux médias. Elle s’occupe de la programmation des activités de l’asbl KIKK qui explore les liens entre art, science, technologie et société à travers l’organisation d’événements ainsi que le développement de programmes éducatifs et artistiques.

Elle est la commissaire du KIKK festival, le festival international des cultures numériques et créatives qui rassemble chaque année plus de 35.000 personnes à Namur, en Belgique, depuis 2011.

 

Marie est aussi la commissaire des expositions du Pavillon, le nouvel espace d’exposition permanent de l’asbl qui met en dialogue des oeuvres artistiques, des projets de recherche scientifique et des prototypes issus du monde entrepreneurial.

Elle s’occupe, également, de la plateforme de production et diffusion artistique du KIKK qui produit des artistes, organise des résidences et diffuse leurs productions à travers le monde. 

Enfin, elle participe aux nombreux autres projets de l’organisation; dont le hub créatif et Fab Lab de Namur TRAKK.

Marie est membre de la Commission Arts Numériques de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles depuis 2014.