Agora 2.jpg

MODERATION

Estelle Demarcke

EMERGING TECHNOLOGIES,

ETHICS & COMMONS

Wednesday 17th March- 3:00pm GMT

ZOOM on registration

Description

Can AI, a major technological tool and the harbinger of many societal changes, play a role in the service of local communities? Beyond the myths and fantasies about its opportunities and dangers, what are the ethical stakes of emerging technologies, including artificial intelligence, towards the common people, from the point of view of the African continent?

 

This agora will lead a collective reflection on the ethical issues of artificial intelligence for better living together.  Based on a state of the art of the geopolitical and economic stakes of artificial intelligence as well as its uses at the international and pan-African levels, the objective of this exchange will be to question the stakes of governance, transparency and uses of the technologies associated with artificial intelligence by leading a cross reflection on the values of our contemporary African societies and the technological and societal choices they face.

image%20marta%20revuelta_edited.jpg

© Marta Revuelta

Capture d’écran 2021-03-17 à 16.56.34.pn

MODERATOR

pro pic.jpg

ESTELLE
DEMARCKE

 

Cultural producer

FR

With 12 years of experience in partnership strategies at the service of international, cultural but also digital solidarity structures, Estelle has collaborated with the public and private sectors in the service of development. She has coordinated numerous events for the general public and collaborated with NGOs, companies, festivals, museums and cities. For the past 5 years, her pronounced taste for the arts and technologies in the service of societal debate has taken shape with the co-creation of the Rivages Électroniques Festival, questioning the links between technologies and artistic creation. She has since devoted herself to these hybrid projects combining culture and digital technology and has collaborated with Kër Thiossane, the Dakar Institute of Technology, and the Atelier Arts Sciences. Based in Dakar, she founded La Muse, a production company that explores the intersections between arts, science and society.

SPEAKERS

Bado%20Ndoye_edited.jpg

BADO

NDOYE

Philosopher

SN

A specialist in phenomenology, epistemology and the history of science, Bado Ndoye teaches philosophy at Cheikh Anta Diop University. Inspector General of Philosophy, he directs the Senegalese Philosophy Review and is the President of the Senegalese Philosophy Society. His recent research focuses on the societal impact of the digital revolution, on the empowerment of endogenous knowledge and on the decolonization of Husserlian phenomenology.

PHOTO ARTISTE FILIPE VILAS BOAS.jpg

FILIPE VILAS BOAS

Artist

 

FR - PO

Conceptual artist playing on the porosity between the IRL and URL worlds, his creations combine recovery, diversion and new media. Full of humor and wit, his works make visible the transformations - both the excesses and the excesses - that technologies operate in society and human behavior. Without falling into the pitfall of naive technophilia or pure technophobia, he collectively questions us about our digital practices and their ethical and aesthetic implications.

kiyindou3%20(1)_edited.jpg

ALAIN KIYINDOU

Professor

FR

Professor in Information and Communication Sciences at Bordeaux Montaigne University, he holds the Unesco Chair in Emerging Practices in Technologies and Communication for Development. Honorary President of the French Society for Information and Communication Sciences, he has published numerous books on artificial intelligence and its appropriation in developing countries and particularly in Africa.

Marta%20Revuelta-Portrait-2021_edited.jp

MARTA REVUELTA

Artist

 

ES - CH

Marta Revuelta is an artist and designer who lives and works in Geneva. His artistic practice appropriates and combines elements of scientific research in artificial intelligence, machine learning algorithms and computer vision while using mechatronics, software programming and biometric technologies to investigate ethical questions. fundamentals regarding times of drift or misuse, limitations and status of these AI-driven technological artefacts used in security and defense.

fode diop.jpeg

FODE DIOP

Software Engineer

 

SN

Entrepreneur and self-taught software engineer, he was born in Dakar, but mostly grew up in the United States. He has been interested in Bitcoin since 2011. He returned to Senegal to raise awareness about Bitcoin technology in his native Wolof / French. Back at Make School in San Francisco, he created Firebolt, allowing bitcoins to be sent with a simple text. In July 2019, he won the Mobility Transportation Hackathon as a solo hacker by building Litrides, a ridesharing service powered by Bitcoin Lightning payments. He is currently participating in the Bitcoin PR Review club to test new Bitcoin features, and hopes to someday contribute to Bitcoin Core.

Agora 2.jpg

MODERATION

Estelle Demarcke

TECHNOLOGIES ÉMERGENTES, ÉTHIQUE & COMMUNS

Mercredi 17 mars - de 15h à 17h GMT

ZOOM (sur inscription)

Description

L’IA, outil technologique majeur et annonciateur de nombreux changements sociétaux, peut-elle jouer un rôle au service des communs ? Au-delà des mythes et fantasmes sur ses opportunités et ses dangers, quels sont les enjeux éthiques des technologies émergentes, dont l’intelligence artificielle, envers les communs, du point de vue du continent africain ?

Cet agora mènera une réflexion collective autour des enjeux éthiques de l’intelligence artificielle au service d’un meilleur vivre ensemble.  A partir d’un état de l’art des enjeux géopolitiques et économiques de l’intelligence artificielle ainsi que ses usages aux niveaux international et  panafricain, l’objectif de cet échange sera de questionner les enjeux de gouvernance, de transparence ou encore d’usages des technologies associées à l’intelligence artificielle en menant une réflexion croisée autour des valeurs de nos sociétés africaines contemporaines et des choix technologiques et sociétaux qui se présentent à elles.

image%20marta%20revuelta_edited.jpg

© Marta Revuelta

Capture d’écran 2021-03-17 à 16.56.34.pn

MODÉRATRICE

pro pic.jpg

ESTELLE
DEMARCKE

 

Productrice culturelle

FR

Avec 12 ans d’expérience dans les stratégies de partenariats au service de structures de solidarité internationale, culturelles mais aussi numériques, Estelle a collaboré avec les secteurs publics et privés au service du développement. Elle a coordonné de nombreux événements grand public et collaboré avec des ONG, entreprises, festivals, musées et villes. Depuis 5 ans son goût prononcé pour les arts et les technologies au service du débat sociétal a pris forme avec la co-création du Festival Rivages électroniques, questionnant les liens entre technologies et création artistique. Elle se consacre depuis à ces projets hybrides mêlant culture et numérique et a collaboré avec Kër Thiossane, le Dakar Institute of Technology, ou encore l’Atelier Arts Sciences. Etablie à Dakar, elle a fondé La Muse, société de production qui explore les intersections entre arts, sciences et société.

INTERVENANTS

Bado%20Ndoye_edited.jpg

BADO

NDOYE

Philosophe

SN

Spécialiste de phénoménologie, d’épistémologie et d’histoire des sciences, Bado Ndoye enseigne la philosophie à l’université Cheikh Anta Diop. Inspecteur général de philosophie, il dirige la Revue sénégalaise de philosophie et est le président de la Société sénégalaise de philosophie. Ses recherches récentes portent sur l’impact sociétal de la révolution du numérique, sur la démarginalisation des savoirs endogènes et sur la décolonisation de la phénoménologie husserlienne.

PHOTO ARTISTE FILIPE VILAS BOAS.jpg

FILIPE VILAS BOAS

Artiste

 

FR - PO

Artiste conceptuel jouant de la porosité entre les mondes IRL et URL, ses créations combinent récupération, détournement et nouveaux médias. Pleines d'humour et d'esprit, ses œuvres rendent visible les transformations — à la fois les accès et les excès — que les technologies opèrent dans la société et les comportements humains. Sans tomber dans l’écueil d’une technophilie naïve ou d’une pure technophobie, il nous interroge collectivement sur nos pratiques numériques et leurs implications éthiques et esthétiques.

kiyindou3%20(1)_edited.jpg

ALAIN KIYINDOU

Professeur

FR

Professeur en Sciences de l’information et de la communication à l’Université Bordeaux Montaigne, il est titulaire de la Chaire Unesco Pratiques émergentes en technologies et communication pour le développement.  Président d’honneur de la Société française des sciences de l’information et de la communication, il a publié de nombreux ouvrages  sur l'intelligence artificielle et son appropriation dans les pays en développement et particulièrement en Afrique. 
 

Marta%20Revuelta-Portrait-2021_edited.jp

MARTA REVUELTA

Artiste

 

ES - CH

Marta Revuelta est une artiste et une designer qui vit et travaille à Genève. Sa pratique artistique s'approprie et associe des éléments de la recherche scientifique en intelligence artificielle, des algorithmes d'apprentissage automatique et de la vision par ordinateur tout en utilisant la mécatronique, la programmation de logiciels et les technologies biométriques pour enquêter sur des questions éthiques fondamentales concernant les moments de dérive ou de mauvaise utilisation, les limites et le statut de ces artefacts technologiques pilotés par l'IA utilisée dans le domaine de la sécurité et de la défense.

fode diop.jpeg

FODE DIOP 

Software Engineer 

 

SN

Entrepreneur et ingénieur logiciel autodidacte, il est né à Dakar, mais a surtout grandi aux États-Unis. Il s'intéresse au Bitcoin depuis 2011. Il est retourné au Sénégal pour sensibiliser à la technologie Bitcoin dans son wolof/français natal. De retour à Make School à San Francisco, il a créé Firebolt, permettant d'envoyer des bitcoins par un simple SMS. En juillet 2019, il a gagné le Mobility Transportation Hackathon en tant que hacker solo en construisant Litrides, un service de covoiturage alimenté par les paiements Bitcoin Lightning. Il participe actuellement au club Bitcoin PR Review pour tester les nouvelles fonctionnalités de Bitcoin, et espère un jour contribuer à Bitcoin Core